December 22, 2011 in Sports



Honored Baylor quarterback Robert Griffin III won The Associated Press college football player of the year, adding another award to his impressive postseason haul. The Heisman Trophy winner won in a landslide over Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck. Griffin received 43 votes from the AP poll panel. Luck was second with seven votes.

Hired The Roger Penske racing team hired AJ Allmendinger to replace Kurt Busch in the No. 22 car. Last year, the 30-year-old Allmendinger had 10 top-10 finishes driving Richard Petty’s No. 43 car.

Resigned Yale football coach Tom Williams resigned amid a university investigation into whether he lied on his resume about being a candidate for a Rhodes Scholarship while a student at Stanford.

Suspended St. Louis Rams rookie wide receiver Austin Pettis has been suspended for four games for violating the NFL policy on performance-enhancing substances. Pettis is a third-round pick out of Boise State.

Agreed Hawaii announced Norm Chow agreed to a five-year deal to become its new head football coach. The school has scheduled a news conference for this afternoon to introduce Chow, who is from Honolulu.

• Louisiana Tech head football coach Sonny Dykes agreed to a contract extension that runs through the next six seasons.

• Houston will hire interim coach Tony Levine as its full-time football coach, the UH athletic director said.

Reinstated North Carolina receiver Dwight Jones was reinstated and will play in the Independence Bowl. The move came one day after the school declared Jones ineligible following a secondary violation in which the senior allowed his name and photo to be used on a flyer promoting a New Year’s Eve party.

Rewarded A person with knowledge of the payout says the NFL Players Association gave executive director DeMaurice Smith a $1 million bonus.

Thoughts and opinions on this story? Click here to comment >>

Get stories like this in a free daily email