Arrow-right Camera

Briefs: Belichick coach of the year

NFL: The New England coach Bill Belichick won The Associated Press 2010 NFL Coach of the Year award on Wednesday, the third time Belichick has earned the honor. Belichick, who also won in 2003 and 2007, trails only Don Shula, a four-time winner of the award.

For leading the Patriots to a 14-2 record, the best in the league, Belichick received 30 votes from a nationwide panel of 50 media members.

Raheem Morris of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers was second.

Meddling mom makes mess

College football: Floyd Raven says his mom was just trying to help when she forged his signature on a letter of intent to Mississippi.

Instead, she only caused confusion. He had decided to go to Texas A&M.

“Long story short, my mom thought she was helping me out,” Raven said Wednesday evening. “I wasn’t home and she sent it in. I never told her I had changed my mind to Texas A&M. I forgive her for it. It was an honest mistake.”

Once Mississippi coach Houston Nutt learned that the letter of intent was forged, he declined to get into specifics about the incident. All he would say was Raven’s “mom really wanted him (at Ole Miss). Mom wanted him here in the worst way.”

Raven, a highly regarded defensive back who played high school football in Reserve, La., said the Ole Miss coaches were “very understanding” during the dilemma.

Texas A&M confirmed that Raven signed a letter of intent with the Aggies.

Associated Press

Lagat to go after American record

Track and field: Bernard Lagat will try to complete his set of American indoor records in a 2-mile race in New York on Feb. 12.

The 36-year-old Lagat already holds the marks for the mile and the 1,500, 3,000 and 5,000 meters.

He is also the U.S. outdoor record holder for the 1,500, 3,000 and 5,000.

Lagat, the former Washington State star who lives in Tucson, Ariz., has never run an indoor 2-mile as a professional. He’s a seven-time Olympic and world championship medalist.

Lagat will chase the record at a college meet at the Armory.

The record of 8 minutes, 15.02 seconds was set by Doug Padilla nearly 21 years ago.

Associated Press