Arrow-right Camera

Washington Voices

School districts honor board members

Local school districts will honor their school board members this month during School Board Appreciation Month.

In a press release, Spokane Public Schools expressed gratitude toward its board members who volunteer their time to help set policies and direct school programs in the Spokane Public School District.

Board members include President Sue Chapin; Vice President Jeffrey Bierman; Garret Daggett; Bob Douthitt; Rocky Treppiedi; and student advisers Anne Howard and Matt LaPlante.

• The Cheney School District will also share appreciation for its school board members during the month of January, who “volunteer their time and energy to providing public school districts with policy leadership and direction,” according to information from the school district’s website.

The Cheney school board members include Suzanne Dolle; Marcie Estrellado; Larry Haskell; Rick Mount; James Whiteley; and student advisers Hilary Martin and Luci Scott.

Rainey Coffin can be reached at (509) 927-2166 or via e-mail at

Click here to comment on this story »