January 12, 2011 in News

WSU researchers honored

Five recognized for advancing scientific applications
By The Spokesman-Review

Five Washington State University researchers have been honored by the largest scientific society in the world for advancing distinguished science applications, the university announced today.

The American Association for the Advancement of Science are among 503 “Fellows” to be recognized during the organization’s annual meeting next month in Washington, D.C.

The WSU researchers are:

Warwick M. Bayly, “for distinguished contributions to comparative respiratory pathophysiology and outstanding leadership advancing the teaching and practice of veterinary medicine in the United States and abroad.” Bayly, former dean of WSU’s College of Veterinary Medicine, also serves as the WSU provost.

Terry F. McElwain, “for distinguished contributions to public health through infectious diseases investigation and implementation of laboratory networks for detection and confirmation of pathogen emergence and spread.” McElwain is a professor of veterinary microbiology and pathology and executive director of the Washington Animal Disease Diagnostic Laboratory.

Raymond Reeves, “for distinguished contributions to the field of chromatin research, particularly for studies elucidating the structure and function of the HMGA family of non-histone architectural proteins.” Reeves, a professor in the School of Molecular Biosciences, studies proteins that turn human genes on and off in normal and cancerous cells.

Michael J. Smerdon, “for distinguished contributions to the field of DNA repair, and for recognizing the significance of chromatin structure in this important defense mechanism against human disease.” Smerdon, who is also a regents professor in the School of Molecular Biosciences, looks at how DNA repair is influenced by the way it is packaged in cells and its response to genetic signals being turned on and off by environmental conditions.

William F. Morgan, adjunct faculty at WSU Tri-Cities and director of Radiation Biology and Biophysics in the Biological Sciences Division at the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, “for outstanding contributions toward understanding the biological effects of ionizing radiation and distinguished service to the radiation protection community.”

There are three comments on this story. Click here to view comments >>

Get stories like this in a free daily email