ST. JOHN, Wash. – Despite its lack of frills, St. John G&CC remains a favorite among golfers in the region.
The course, which can be stretched to 5,752 yards, originally opened as a six-hole layout in 1935, but was closed down for nearly 10 years during and after World War II. And shortly after it reopened, the members decided to eliminate one of the existing holes and add four new ones to create a nine-hole layout.
The renovation, which was completed in 1995, turned the course into the entertaining, well-maintained layout it is today. With very few trees and even fewer houses abutting the fairways, it is a great place for beginning golfers to learn.
Walking the flat terrain on which the course sits is a snap, and golfers will encounter several excellent holes along the way, including the 500-yard, par-5 third, which was added during he remodel, and features a double doglegged fairway that runs along the left side of a ball-gobbling stream to an angled green tucked behind a stand of trees.
Another gem is the 412-yard par-4 sixth that turns slightly to the left, past a long bunker just short of the green.
– Steve Bergum
sponsored Kids learn about money from their parents.