Arrow-right Camera

Kurt Busch on pole for Sunday’s Sprint Cup race

Another race, another pole for Kurt Busch. This is a drill he’s happy to get used to.

“To be on the pole three weeks, what it does – there are so many benefits behind the scenes,” Busch said. “Picking your pit selection first, having track position right away in the race. … You could have a slow pit crew, and you have that first pit box, that’s going to help you get out in front of guys throughout the day.”

Busch won his third consecutive pole in the NASCAR Sprint Cup series, finishing first in qualifying Saturday at Michigan International Speedway in Brooklyn, Mich., with a lap of 188.699 miles per hour. He’s the first driver to win three straight poles since Brian Vickers in 2009, and two qualifying sessions were canceled during that streak. The last person to win three poles in three races was Ryan Newman in 2007.

Busch is sixth in the points standings although he hasn’t won a race in 2011 with his Penske Racing Team.

David Reutimann (188.684 mph) was second in qualifying for today’s race, and Matt Kenseth (188.620) was third. Vickers was fourth.

Points leader Carl Edwards was 23rd. Jeff Gordon, coming off a win at Pocono, was 31st. Newman, who set the track’s qualifying record in 2005 at 194.232 mph, was 13th this time around.

Jimmie Johnson was 21st, and Dale Earnhardt Jr., trying to snap a 107-race Sprint Cup losing streak, is 15th.

Edwards snares 4th Nationwide victory

Carl Edwards raced to his fourth NASCAR Nationwide victory of the year, passing teammate Ricky Stenhouse Jr. with less than 10 laps remaining Saturday at Michigan International Speedway.

Edwards, the Sprint Cup points leader, had finished second in three straight Nationwide races since winning at Dover in May. He beat Stenhouse by 1.669 seconds in the No. 60 Ford. It was his 33rd career Nationwide victory.

Edwards and Stenhouse gave Roush Fenway Racing a 1-2 finish.

Kyle Busch was third, followed by pole-sitter Paul Menard.

Franchitti earns pole position for IndyCar

Dario Franchitti put plenty of cars between himself and IndyCar points leader Will Power for the start of today’s race at the Milwaukee Mile in West Allis, Wis.

Franchitti won the pole position with an average speed of 170.841 mph, followed by Helio Castroneves and Scott Dixon. Power qualified all the way back in 17th.