Arrow-right Camera


Fever 4 competitors jockey for position

Fri., June 24, 2011

Stateline Speedway’s Fever 4 division has been the launching pad for many drivers over the years, including Colton Garber and Blake Williams.

The class is also a nice change of pace for those who look to have fun during the Post Falls facility’s midweek racing program.

Such was the case Wednesday night as ICAR star Rusty Webb and KC Garber – another in a long line of talent from the Garber family – battled it out for victory. Both drivers have found success in their Fever 4 cars, with Webb picking up a win at Spokane County Raceway while Garber has been a front-runner at both Inland Empire tracks.

Webb kicked off the Wednesday qualifying action by turning a lap of 15.517 seconds and then trailed Garber in the trophy dash. Heat racing found a new player running up front for the victory as Les Billings bested Webb, with Nicole Behar rounding out the top three.

In the division’s main event, Webb ran strongly over the 30-lap run to defeat Garber. Billings, Behar and Travis Allen rounded out the top five. Garber’s runner-up finished strengthened his hold on the drivers standings over Behar.

Brittney Ruppert continued her strong season in the Road Runner division as she qualified atop the class with a 17.688-second lap. She also earned a second-place finish in the A-Heat and followed up with a top-10 finish in the main event to continue her march toward the division championship.

Also having a solid night in the Road Runner class were trophy dash winners Josh Biehl and Dan Schleve. Blake Hinton bested Ruppert and Biehl in the A-Heat race and Austin Ackerman won the B-Heat over Schleve and Roxanne Cox.

Biehl had the hot car in the 20-lap main event as he blazed to a win over Ackerman. Hinton ran third, Cox came home fourth and Brian Sawatski rounded out the top five.

This season, Stateline has adjusted the Road Runners into two divisions, with the second group known as a Pro class. Competitors in the Pro group have added more adjustment and engine options to their cars and the results are speeds generally 1 second faster in qualifying trim.

Such was the case as Road Runner Pro Eric Chaney topped out qualifying action with a 16.59-second lap. Darryl Krum ran a top-four qualifying lap that earned him an entry into the A-Trophy dash where he picked up a win. Chaney, Krum and divisional points leader Ron Hunter all had a spirited battle in the A-Heat race, with Chaney earning the victory.

Main event racing saw a new face find victory lane. Dylan Kane got in front of Chaney and stayed there over the course of the 25-lap main event. Hunter’s seventh-place finish kept him just in front of Vern Vanderhof in the championship standings.

Joel Schrader was the Bump-to-Pass main event winner on a night that saw Keith Williams earn a win in the Heat Race and Monty Dotson grab a win in the trophy dash.

Stateline Speedway returns to action this weekend with the ICAR Late Model Series’ second stop of the season. Fans will also see the Super 4 Modifieds in action along with the Northwest Early Stocks. For more information, go to

Kart racing

The Spokane Kart Racing Association holds its annual promotional weekend of racing on Saturday and Sunday with a free barbecue offered to those interested in learning more about kart racing in the Inland Northwest.

Drivers in the six divisions will compete.

Racing is held during the afternoon each day and meals are served Saturday, by the organization’s members, beginning at the conclusion of the program. Admission is free to the grandstands with pit access allowed throughout the weekend.

To learn more call SKRA president Dave Overhoff, 435-2528.

To reach Motorsports Correspondent Doug Pace send an email to Follow all the latest racing news at keepingpace.

Click here to comment on this story »