Arrow-right Camera


Area residents named to UW honor roll

Thu., March 17, 2011

The University of Washington recently named area residents to the fall quarter dean’s honor roll for the 2010-’11 academic year. Students are listed by their hometowns.

Chattaroy: Luke Bishop, Amanda Suhr.     

Cheney: David Coomes, Edward Liu, Shanshan Sun.

Colbert: Brian Baker, Alexa Erickson, Megan Erickson, Charles Hand Jr., Justin Johnson, Lisa Meyer, Jill Pignataro.                         

Greenacres: Emily Juhre.                           

Liberty Lake: Natalie Block, Nathaniel Coulson, Jason Walker, Jessica Willard.                        

Mead: Jenna Alaskar, Madelin Copus, Skye Gregory, Chelsea Heniges, Ryan Hervey, Erin Murphy, Tessa Polumsky, Megan Sikes.                             

Medical Lake: Jessica Herkel, Jessica Redinger, Chris Schweikhardt, Richard Wight.

Newman Lake: Laura Binczewski, Robert Jopson, Brian Stamer.

Nine Mile Falls: Richard Caulkins, Samantha Johnson, Michael Lawrence, Rebecca Ramshaw, Kimberly Redding.

Otis Orchards: Laurel Abbotts.

Spokane: Rebecca Adams, Christopher Alfino, Hana Alicic, Beddome Allen, Scott Andersen, Haley Anderson, Rachel Annis, Selena Annis, Joe O’Malley Armstrong, Rachel Ballard, Annika Benedetto, Leslie Berkseth, Adam Bernbaum, Aaron Bestick, Amy Bestick, Haley Brinjones, Beth Bromme, Galen Brooks, Rachel Brow, Kimberly Byxbee, Maggie Capwell, Nicholas Carr, Natalie Cholaj, Hannah Christensen, Andrew Countryman, Drew Crosby, Alexander Cypro, Matthew Denend, Madelyn Dethlefs, David Dever, Jeff Devlin, Shay Driscoll, Charlotte Dubiel, Michelle Duskey, Amanda Edwards, Alexa Ellingsen, Katie Emoto, Florent Ensminger, Logan Ereaux, Lucas Erler, Laura Estey, Emily Fales, Wilson Faust, Alexander Fisher, Margeaux Fox, Jessica Franklin, Taylor Fryett, Dirk Gaines, Ashley Giffing, Zachary Goist, Kimberly Grant, Taylor Gray, Jordan Greco, Madeline Greeley, Gabrielle Gurian, Casey Gustafson, Katelyn Harvey, Andrea Henke, Kathryn Hillman, Emma Hogan, Kaitlin Huppin, Sam Hylton, Jenessa Johnson, Rachel Kahn, Jarred Katz, Hillary Kaufman, Madelaine Kellman, Elyssa Kerr, Sean Kinard, Allen Klingel III, Jonathan Knuth, Michael Kody, Bryan Lammers, Ellie Larocca, Quinn Lawlor and Matthew Lawson.

Elaine Lee, Elizabeth Lee, Justin Lee, Lewis Lee, Charlotte Lefler, Jasmine Lefler, Michelle Lefler, Samantha Lin, Alina Litoshyk, Austin Lueck, Melissa MacKelvie, Daniel Marciniak, John Marlow, Nathan Mascardo, Michael Mastor Jr., Katie Matthews, Kara May, Michael May, Alyssa Mazzie, Rachael McBride, Laura McDowell, Madison McGinnis, Rachel Milhem, Jamie Milligan, Claire Moberg, Sigifredo Mora, Amy Naccarato, Jennifer Nardecchia, Alexander Nelson, Theodore Newell, Electra Nicolaysen, Caitlin Ormsby, Kathryn Ormsby, Molly Ostheller, Blake Parris, Natalie Parrish, Sean Payne, Philip Penberthy, Ryan Perrizo, Bradley Petek, Marc Poppy, Carl Preiksaitis, Brandon Quackenbush, Bennett Rahn, Tyler Rigsby, Matthew Rubright, Danielle Rynning, Kaelyn Sayles, Eric Schofhauser, Collin Schupman, Benjamin Schwyn, Steven Seedall, Collin Siok, Duncan Smith, Megan Soehren, Britton Stamper, Lindsie Startin, Hayley Stephens, Matthew Stephens, Casey Stulc, Allison Swanson, Kaitlund Tangvald, Grayson Tate, Michael Thomas, Stephen Thompson, Rebecca Tiffany, Katie Truong, Brennan Waller, Scott Walters, Alexandra Watson, Chase Watson, Amy Westrick, Alicia Wheeler, Travis Wichtendahl, Jacob Willard, Emily Wing and Keith Woehrlin.

• Five seniors at Rosalia High School were recently awarded the rank of Eagle Scout, the highest rank given in the Boy Scouts. The boys are members of Troop 588.

Casey Brown, the son of Pat and Tami Brown, built a new fence for the Holy Rosary Cemetery for his project. Brown designed the fence, put together the budget and organized volunteers to complete his project.

Tom Carrothers designed and constructed flagpole holders and installed the holders on light posts in downtown Rosalia. His goal was to create an efficient way to set up the flags and to display them in a more uniform and patriotic manner.

He is the son of Jane Carrothers of Rosalia and Chad Carrothers of Richland.

Jared Hereford, the son of Jed and Trish Hereford of Thornton, organized the removal and replacement of the home run fence at Rosalia’s softball field in the city park for his project. To complete the project, support poles were dug up and re-set into concrete and gaps in the fence have been covered with plywood.

Flash Hodges designed and manufactured a flag pole at the Malden-Pine City Gun Club for his Eagle Scout project. The flag pole, built from scratch, stands 30 feet high.

He is the son of Brad and Teresa Hodges of Oakesdale, Wash.

Nathan Richards created a memorial project for the Malden community at the Malden Volunteer Fire Department, coordinating with local leaders, firefighters and other Scouts.

It began four years ago, utilizing memorial donations received after his grandfather died. His initial project began as a memorial flagpole and public information sign. The flagpole was completed first, then the public information sign, which is now a centralized, illuminated, covered location to post notices and information beneficial to the Malden community.

He is the son of Dan and Tami (VanDyke) Harwood of Malden, Wash.

• Becky Harris , a 2008 graduate of Ferris High School was awarded a $500 scholarship from the Spokane chapter of the Washington Pilots Association. The scholarship will help Harris pay for flight expenses.

She is a student in the Spokane Falls Community College flight program.

Kimberlee Thompson, a graduate of Mead High School in 2007, was named to Western Washington University’s fall quarter president’s list for the 2010-11 academic year. She is the daughter of Scott and Kathie Thompson of Spokane.

To tell us about your achievements, write to Achievements, The Spokesman-Review, 13208 E. Sprague Ave., Spokane, WA 99216 or send an e-mail to

Click here to comment on this story »