Arrow-right Camera

In brief: 3 Chiefs are WHL first-teamers

Hockey: The Spokane Chiefs dominated the Western Conference awards the Western Hockey League announced on Wednesday.

Forward Tyler Johnson, defenseman Jared Cowen (pictured) and goaltender James Reid are all first-team all-stars with defenseman Brenden Kichton on the second team.

It is the first time three Chiefs made the first team.

The finalists for leaguewide awards include Don Nachbaur for Coach of the Year, Reid for Goaltender of the Year and Johnson for Most Sportsmanlike.

The WHL awards, including Player of the Year, will be announced May 4 in Calgary.

Eastern Conference awards are announced on Thursday.

Dave Trimmer

Complete WHL list, B4

Whits’ Taylor nation’s best

College basketball: Whitworth guard Michael Taylor was named the NCAA Division III Player of the Year by the National Association of Basketball Basketball Coaches.

Taylor led Whitworth to a 28-2 record, the best in school history as the Pirates reached the national quarterfinals.

Taylor, a 6-4 guard from Brewster, Wash., was named player of the year by last week.

Taylor led the team in scoring average (20.3 ppg) and assists and topped the Northwest Conference in both free-throw percentage (88.4 percent) and three-point percentage (.528).

Shock’s White put on IR

Arena football: Spokane Shock receiver Markee White has been placed on injured reserve after spraining his left foot on an acrobatic touchdown catch late in the fourth quarter of last Saturday’s loss to Cleveland.

As the 6-foot-7 White made the catch and was knocked over the dasherboards, it appeared his foot struck the iron bar that surrounds the netting.

White will be out for a minimum of four weeks.

White leads the Shock with 19 receptions and five touchdowns. He had 66 touchdown catches last season.

Receiver Raul Vijil, who missed Saturday’s loss to Cleveland with an illness, has practiced this week and is available to play against Iowa on Friday.

Also, Spokane dropped out of the latest AFL coaches’ poll. San Jose is No. 1

Jim Meehan