Arrow-right Camera


Breaking down the vote

Wed., Nov. 9, 2011

Local contested races

Postion Candidates Issues Outcome
Spokane Mayor Mary Verner (i)

David Condon

After Verner won convincingly in the primary, Condon focused on three issues: police accountability, water rates and elimination of property crime detectives. Condon staged a surprise comeback, capturing 20,599 votes to Verner’s 18,784 in early returns.
Spokane City Council President Dennis Hession

Ben Stuckart

Stuckart presented himself as a fresh, energetic voice while Hession campaigned as a steady, experienced leader. Stuckart had 20,046 votes to Hession’s 17,538 votes.
Spokane City Council

District 1

Mike Fagan

Donna McKereghan

Both longtime community activists promised to balance the budget, while Fagan targeted job creation and McKereghan, open government. Fagan led McKereghan 4,529 votes to 4,162 votes.
Spokane City Council

District 2

Richard Rush (i)

Mike Allen

Allen and Rush served two years on the City Council together. Allen criticized Rush’s proposals on utility rates and other fee increases. With Allen leading by only 250 votes, Rush declined to concede.
Spokane City Council

District 3

Joy Jones

Steve Salvatori

Salvatori, a longtime businessman, focused on jobs. Jones, a newcomer to politics, said other issues, like policing, needed attention, too. Salvatori, with 7,364 votes, defeated Jones, who had 6,116.
Spokane School Board

Position 5

Deana Brower

Sally Fullmer

Fullmer appealed to conservative voters with her vow to be a watchdog of the administration. Brower was supported by several former and current education interests. Brower appeared to have defeated Fullmer, 19,165 votes to 17,775 votes.
State Senate, Legislative

District 4 (Spokane Valley)

Jeff Baxter (i), R

Mike Padden, R

Baxter, a longtime Valley businessman, was appointed to the seat left open by Bob McCaslin’s retirement. Padden, a former legislator and judge, filed for the election after being blocked in appointment process. Padden had 13,469 votes to Baxter’s 10,766.
Spokane Valley

City Council Position 2

Dean Grafos (i)

John Carroll

Grafos emphasizes his role in reducing city spending, while Carroll says the city council has failed to plan for future needs. Grafos appeared to be the winner with 8,101 votes to 6,328 votes for Carroll.
Spokane Valley

City Council Position 3

Arne Woodard (i)

Dee Dee Loberg

Woodard, who was appointed to the council this year, favors minimalist zoning. Loberg disagrees and has said she wants to represent a demographic not currently on the council. Woodard led with 7,342 to Loberg’s 6,722 votes.
Spokane Valley

City Council Position 5

Chuck Hafner (i)

Orvella Kendall

Hafner, who was also appointed to the council this year, is unopposed on the ballot. Kendall announced her write-in campaign late. Hafner won easily with 11,583 votes, compared with 554 write-in votes.
Spokane Valley

City Council Position 6

Ben Wick

Marilyn Cline

The race pits Wick, who emphasizes the city’s need for a plan for the future, against Positive Change-endorsed candidate Cline, who has been focusing on public safety. The race appeared too close to call with Wick’s 7,098 votes to Cline’s 7,078 votes.
Liberty Lake Mayor Josh Beckett

Steve Peterson

The campaign featured a political comeback for Peterson and Beckett’s attempt to move up from the council. Voters give Peterson the nod, with 1,134 ballots to Beckett’s 392.
Liberty Lake City Council Keith Kopelson

Shane Brickner

Both candidates promised to serve as careful stewards of the city’s treasury. Brickner appeared to capture the contest, 644 votes to 559.


There is one comment on this story »