There are four comments on this story. Click here to view comments >>

Get stories like this in a free daily email

September 8, 2011 in Nation/World
Susan Walsh photo

Rep. Jeb Hensarling, R-Texas, and Rep. Patty Murray, D-Wash., who are the co-chairs of the Joint Select Committee on Deficit Reduction, also known as the “supercommittee,” shake hands at the end of the committee’s first organizational meeting today on Capitol Hill in Washington.