Arrow-right Camera
News >  Features >  Washington Voices

Project helps kids mark 9/11

Balboa Elementary first-grader Kaeden Osterman portrays how he would make his school better.
Balboa Elementary first-grader Kaeden Osterman portrays how he would make his school better.

In honor of the 10-year anniversary of 9/11, students at Balboa Elementary School recently pledged to make their school and community better, and wrote or drew their promises on strips of white fabric. A school-wide project, the strips will be tied together as a permanent display in the school.

Started by the teachers in Balboa’s Montessori program, the primary students began their project with a story about 9/11, told and illustrated by first-graders at Masterson Elementary School in Kennett, Mo., titled “September 12th: We Knew Everything Would Be Alright.” The story gave Balboa’s students an understanding of 9/11 without scaring them and reminded them that “the world continued the next day, with the message that even after bad things happen, tomorrow always brings a new day.”

Balboa’s older students learned about volunteering in their community and what they can do to make their world better. Then, all students were given their fabric and set to work.

“It was a good time for our community of learners to come together and learn about what’s important,” said Balboa Principal Heather Awbery. “It got the kids thinking how they could make the world a better place.”

Awbery said that the activity wasn’t meant to be a 9/11 project, “but more of an awareness and inspiration to take care of our environment and our future.”

3 merit semifinalists in Spokane

Spokane Public Schools reported three of its students are among approximately 16,000 semifinalists in the 57th annual National Merit Scholarship Program.

Russell Pochis, of Ferris High School, Jesse Ward, of Lewis and Clark High School, and Karl Fencl, of Rogers High School, are the local Merit semifinalists.

According to a press release from Spokane Public Schools, more than 1.5 million juniors from approximately 22,000 high schools entered the 2012 National Merit Program by taking the 2010 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

To become a finalist, a semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by the high school principal and earn SAT scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test. The semifinalist and a high school official also must submit a detailed scholarship application.

Approximately 15,000 semifinalists are expected to advance to the finalist level.

Students awarded for AP scores

Students in the Spokane Public Schools district earned AP Scholar status for their academic excellence on their college-level Advanced Placement exams.

Recipients of the National AP Scholar award, given to students who receive an average grade of at least 4.0 on all AP exams taken, and grades of 4.0 or higher on eight or more of the exams, include: Jeremy Dietz, Cooper Mellema, Michael Viveiros, Lewis and Clark; Forrest Ireland, North Central; Jenia Rousseva, Shadle Park High School.

Recipients of the AP Scholar with Distinction award, given to students who receive an average grade of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken, and grades of 3.0 or higher on five or more, include:

Samuel Butler, Mackenzie Dandoy, Kirsten Harrison, Sarah Harrison, Jazlyn Jacobs, Gina Myers, Lee Organick, Cara Reidy, Benjamin Vogel, Emily Von Essen, Joseph Wecker, Ferris.

Baxter Arguinchona, Edward Brow, Elaine Busko, Rory Cahill O’Brien, Kailee Capka, Elizabeth Connelly, Nicolas Cypro, Jeremy Dietz, Jesse Doran, Florence Doval, Kevin Grow, Sydney Kersten, Shannon Kody, Dylan Lockwood, Cooper Mellema, McKenna Mitchell, Louis Mounsey, Miles Ormsby, Scott Strong, Michael Viveiros, LC.

Jenna Bunnell, Marina DeFrates, Nicole Dunham, Lindsey Gay, Forrest Ireland, Ryan Jacobsen, Joe Lawhead, Nicholas Negretti, Elizabeth Rose, Boston Smith, Colton Sullivan, Alison Treichel, Tara Vanweerdhuizen, NC.

Karl Fencl, Rogers.

Emily Hawks, Nicole Hessner, Noah Hunt, Michael Leech, Brady Mitchell, Jenia Rousseva, Tess Spargo, Jacob Van Nostrand, Shadle.

Recipients of the AP Scholar with Honor award, given to students who receive an average grade of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken, and grades of 3.0 or higher on four or more of the exams, include:

Sarah Andrews, Michael Armstrong, Ashley Barling, Tom Geranios, Minjung Kim, Duncan McNally, Daniel Vance, Steven Vilwock, Forest Wilson, Julia Wing, Ferris.

Hannah Allen, Hannah Barz, Lydia Blaine, Keegan Campbell, Grace Carter, Alexander Chow, Elliot Chow, Caitlin Cunningham, Joseph Delistraty, Anna Dunlap, Perri Greeley, Megan Harbaugh, Lauren Hardie, Justice Hille, Emily Jones, Aaron Kahn, Gabriel Kohler, Kelly Kopczynski, Shelby Lambdin, Kelli Lessmeier, Rebecca Long, Garrett McCollum, Rebecca Mellema, Kelsey Moore, Jenika Newsum, Jonathon O’Grady, Benjamin Ratcliff, Greg Reynolds, Trent Robinson, Quinn Shumaker, Rachel Teems, Michael Terhune, Jesse Ward, Stephanie Wolverton, Lewis and Clark.

Jacob Ecklund, Zachary Groom, NC.

Mark Adams, Morgana Baldwin, Dustin Walde, Rogers.

Melissa Carter, Ryan Havermann, Amanda Kelley, Michelle Perrier, John Schug, Jesse Tarr, Tyler Wilson, Shadle.

Recipients of the AP Scholar award, given to students with grades of 3.0 or higher on three or more exams, include:

Amber Arbanas, Lucia Baldwin, Mara Baldwin, Matthew Bray, Nicola Brooks, Andrea Brudnicki, Iris Chavez, Sarah Cockey, Megan Davis, Lauren Earthman, Maria Everett, Sarah Gustafson, Mitchell Heid, Curtis Howe, Ella Kuuskvere, Bradley Lammers, Grant Livingston, Molly Lorenz, Rachel Millet, Michael Morgan, Jacob Newell, Michael Oien, Michelle Orsi, David Repsold, Tucker Richards, Rachel Schmidt, Joshauh Sharon, Olivia Swindler, Maria Tozzi, Calvin Wilkins, Ferris.

Tyler Aldworth, Kevin Bierig, Cory Brandt, Mark Breckenridge, Mark Capka, Laura Chamberlain, Austin Dixon, Casey Dunau, Kevin Dunham, Carly Ellingsen, Nels Evenson, Leecia Farmer, Dylan Farrell, Weston Fiala, Joshua Foster, Miranda Gadau, Jake Garrison, Asyia Gover, Isaac Griffith, Benjamin Hagood, Chelsea Heimbigner, Zeke Hunter- Green, Ruth Jablonsky, Sierra Jackowich, Ryan Katz, Alexander Killingsworth, Kathryn Larson, Nichole Lima, Benjamin Lovell, Cassidy MacArthur, Benjamin Marks, Riley Mathis, Eric McGaughey, Adam Moyer, Kathleen Nave, Thanh Nguyen, Madison Obrien, Bergen Palmer, Marc Phillip Parker, Michael Remington, Molly Rupp, Massoud Saleki, Jamie Santos, Jasmine Sharifi, Jackson Shumaker, Jesse Silva-Sanborn, Aaron Smith, Alexandra Smith, Rachel Smith, Alexis Storms, Hannah Taffin, Calli Vanderwilde, Hannah Voves, David Waples, Kaitlin Webster, Eric Weigle, Andrew Wildman, Matthew Williams, Conor Willman, Sarah Wood, Lewis and Clark.

Casey Adams, Sydne Alegria, Shanice Applewhaite, Pauline Bassler, Autumn Chavez, James Corrigan, Lyn Do, Channa Goodwin, Kelsey Green, Lifen Guo, Lauren Hamilton, Holden Hansen, Taylor Jamison, Hailey Kimpel, Sarah Klein, Samantha Layton, Taysia Lefaber, Carolina Montufar, Avery Morton, Dustin Roberts, Jordan Rogers, Garick Sherburn, Ben Smith, Jonathan Smith, Dominique Stone, Jonathan Stratton, Nicholas Thomas, Garrett Thompson, Reilly Thompson, Alyssa Vinge, Jack Williams, Andrew Wordell, NC.

Christian Alexander, Branden Babcock, Thomas Glasser, Bradley Hawkins, Alexander Sipraseuth, Whitney Ward, Rogers.

Elizabeth Choma, Brandon Clement, Kendra DeJanovich, Aleah Gilmore, Kelly Gioja, Aaron Horton, Chase Kohler, Changyoung Lee, Rayanne Shears, Bradley Skalstad, Nicolle Stubbs, Erin Sullivan, Kevin Vorpahl, Greta Wagley, Shadle.