Banquet honors academic excellence


Spokane high school seniors were honored for their academic achievement Monday evening at the 20th annual Spokane Scholars Foundation Banquet at the Spokane Convention Center. A total of $60,000 was awarded in six content areas: English, social studies, mathematics, science, world languages and fine arts.

Awarded in English: David Ross, Central Valley, $4,000; Erin Benson, University, $3,000; Caitlyn Ewers, Gonzaga Prep, $2,000; and Ajay Vishwanath, St. George’s School, $1,000.

Awarded in fine arts: Regan Siglin, The Oaks Classical Christian Academy, $4,000; Eun-song Koh, Mead, $3,000; Andrew Croneberger, University, $2,000; and Alexandra Kraft, Gonzaga Prep, $1,000.

Awarded in mathematics: Phillip Yan, Gonzaga Prep, $4,000; Devon Carlton, Mead, $3,000; Steven Vilwock, Ferris, $2,000; and Alexander White, Central Valley, $1,000.

Awarded in science: Karl Fencl, Rogers, $4,000; Marina DeFrates, North Central, $3,000; Jasper Danielson, St. George’s, $2,000; and Scott Wurst, Mt. Spokane, $1,000.

Awarded in social studies: Andrew Schutts, Central Valley, $4,000; Lauren Nemitz, University, $3,000; Kylie Mohr, St. George’s, $2,000; and Lydia Blaine, Lewis and Clark, $1,000.

Awarded for world languages: Roy Taylor, Gonzaga Prep, $4,000; Emily Grossmann, Mt. Spokane, $3,000; Catherine Roy-Ting, The Oaks, $2,000; and Natasha Saric, Central Valley, $1,000.


Click here to comment on this story »