Arrow-right Camera


Volunteer work earns scholarship

Tue., Aug. 7, 2012

• Garrett Connolly , a 13-year-old Northside Elementary School student in Sandpoint, was awarded a Kohl’s Cares Scholarship for $1,000 for his hard work and dedication to his community and school.

Connolly volunteered more than 400 hours and raised money to clean up and create a new baseball diamond at his school. He co-chairs his student council and is involved in his school’s student body activities.

• Ensign Bethany Indahl was commissioned in the U.S. Navy after completing Officer Candidate School in Newport, R.I.

Indahl is the daughter of Berne and Pamela Indahl, of Spokane, and graduated in 2005 from Northwest Christian School. • Mark Romano of Troop 313 was recently awarded the rank of Eagle Scout, the highest given in the Boy Scouts.

For his project, Romano organized and built a habitat and display of the Western Bluebird at Riverside State Park. The project included building and installing eight bluebird houses with display signs.

Romano will be a senior at Gonzaga Prep in the fall and is the son of John and Grace Romano, of Spokane.

• Two area residents graduated from basic military training at Lackland Air Force Base, San Antonio.

Air Force Airman 1st Class Andrew House is the son of Darryll and Sheri House, of Spokane, and graduated from University High School in 2008.

Air Force Airman Kyle Leavenworth is a 2010 graduate of University High School and is the son of Robert and Donita Leavenworth, of Spokane Valley.

• Army Pvt. Joshua Zinkgraf graduated from basic infantry training at Fort Benning, Columbus, Ga.

He is a 2011 graduate of West Valley High School and the son of Dale Zinkgraf and Rona Leap, both of Spokane Valley.

Carianna Rath, of Spokane, was named to the Pacific Lutheran University spring semester dean’s list for the 2011-’12 academic year. Rath graduated from Ferris High School in 2008 and is the daughter of David and Lori Rath, of Spokane.

Olivia Brooks , Mashala Guilbault, Hilarey Knowlton and Shannon Lindsay, all of Spokane, were named to the University of Montana spring semester dean’s list for the 2011-’12 academic year.

Amelia Fairburn, of Nine Mile Falls, and Marissa Hilmes, of Colbert , were named to the Azusa Pacific University spring semester dean’s list for the 2011-’12 academic year.

Luke Petersen, of Spokane, was named to the Purdue University spring semester dean’s list for the 2011-’12 academic year.

Michael Sattler, of Greenacres, was awarded a $1,500 college scholarship at Fairchild Air Force Base from the Scholarships for Military Children program. Sattler is the son of David Hogberg and Jeanne Hogberg.

Michael Wilhelm, of Cheney, received the Warrior Forge Commander’s Leadership Award at the U.S. Army Cadet Command’s Leader Development and Assessment Course graduation ceremony.

Wilhelm was ranked No. 1 among more than 200 cadets in his company during the 29-day training event, known as Operation Warrior Forge. It is the capstone training and assessment exercise for the Army Reserve Officers’ Training Corps and is held at Joint Base Lewis-McChord.

• The University of Washington recently named area residents on the spring quarter dean’s honor roll for the 2011-’12 academic year. Students are listed by their hometowns.

Airway Heights: Petra Lee, Kristofferson McCreary.

Cheney: Kai Flygare.

Colbert: Brian Baker, Lauren Brandkamp, Alexa Erickson, Brett Megaard, Avrey Novak, Jill Pignataro.

Deer Park: James Calamia, Rebekah Lester.

Elk: Dylan Livingston.

Greenacres: Matthew Sutter.

Liberty Lake: Natalie Block, Allison Burdick, Anthony Cali, Nathaniel Coulson, Ryan Fisher, Matthew Hinea, Nichole Lima, Julia Marquiss, Josh Villars.

Mead: Graham Cragun, Dillon Fischer, Erin Murphy.

Medical Lake: Jessica Herkel, Jessica Redinger, Chris Schweikhardt, Nissa Van Meter, Richard Wight.

Mica: Jack Armstrong.

Newman Lake: Laura Binczewski, Melissa Kersh, Cameron Stack.

Nine Mile Falls: Jeffrey Bennett, Richard Caulkins, Samantha Johnson, Michael Lawrence, Ciara Mielke.

Otis Orchards: Laurel Abbotts, Mariam Alnassim, Scott Anderson.

Spokane: Christopher Alfino, Beddome Allen, Cameron Allen, Scott Andersen, Haley Anderson, Emily Andrews, Rachel Annis, Selena Annis, Chelsa Ayers, Sanjay Bappudi, Spencer Beaudette, Amy Before, Courtney Bell, Adam Bernbaum, Amy Bestick, Kristi Boes, Cameo Brereton, Edward Brow, Rachel Brow, Jessica Chess, Jennifer Choi, Emily Clary, Andrew Countryman, Drew Crosby, Caitlin Cunningham, Alexander Cypro, Nicolas Cypro, Justin Davidson-Beebe, Matthew Denend, Madeleine Derrick, Trent Deschamps, David Dever, Michelle Duskey, Travis Egan, Olivia Eisenrich, Katie Emoto, Laura Estey, Annelise Eugster, Yuan Fang, Jessica Franklin, Molly Gainer, James Ganas, Sulamita Garbuz, Nina Gerber, Gabriella Greco, Alizabeth Green, Davita Gurian, Jill Guthrie, Jade Heidinger, Nicholas Hendryx, James Heusner, Aaron Horton, Jordan Hurley, Sam Hylton, Albert Isip, Mackenzie Johnson, Colette Jolicoeur, Jarred Katz, Elyssa Kerr, Heewon Kim, Sean Kinard, Michael Kody, Shannon Kody, Lilia Kondo, Thomas Krause, Bryan Lammers, Tanner Lappano, Justin Lee, Rachel Lee, Michelle Lefler, Michael Lewis, Anastasia Lincoln, John Loft.

Kevin Ma, Michaela Mansfield, Daniel Marciniak, Ena Martincic, Julie Martz, Rachael McBride, Cooper Mellema, Rachel Milhem, Jamie Milligan, Amy Naccarato, Jennifer Nardecchia, Alexander Nelson, Cameron Nemeth, Electra Nicolaysen, Michael Oien, Caitlin Ormsby, Rachel Overland, Elizabeth Parker, Blake Parris, Natalie Parrish, Benjamin Pelle, Ryan Perrizo, Brandon Quackenbush, Emily Robeson, Rachel Rubens, Lindsay Ryan, Amanda Sams, Mckenzie Schnell, Eric Schofhauser, Mary Schroeder, Adam Schultheis, Collin Schupman, Alan Scott, Ryan Seacrist, Steven Seedall, Alexander Slate, Ashley Smith, Duncan Smith, Hollice Smith, Michael Smith, Nashua Springberry, Matthew Stevens, Nicholas Strobelt, Scott Strong, Gregory Sullivan, Mathew Summers, Thor Tangvald II, Emily Thomas, Michael Thomas, Garrett Thompson, Stephen Thompson, Zachary Thompson, Katie Truong, Thanh-Thu Truong, Kevin Tsuchida, Brayden Underwood, Abby Vander Linden, Dustin Walde, Brennan Waller, Scott Walters, Amy Westrick, Jay Wolfer, Newton Yates, Jumi Young, Abbos Yunusov, Bradley Joseph Zentz, Jillian Zieske. 

Veradale: Allison Bertoni, Caitlin Hess, Schuyler Pearman-Gillman.


Click here to comment on this story »