Arrow-right Camera
News >  Business

Business Beat

Have an item for Business Beat? Send it to businessbeat@


Steven Clark has been hired by MMEC Architecture and Interiors as a LEED accredited architect. The company also hired Tyler Troutman. He previously served as an intern architect with the company.


Deanna Zibello received a 2012 Gregory Award for Outstanding Scenic Design for her work in Seattle theater group Azeotrope’s production of “Jesus Hopped the A Train.” Zibello is a visiting assistant professor of drama at Gonzaga University.

• The Washington State University Alumni Association presented Michael Dreyer and Terrill (Terry) Hunt with Alumni Achievement Awards. Dreyer is global head of technology for VISA Inc. and Hunt is CEO of Spokane Allied Fire and Security.


• Banner Bank promoted Jennifer Parker and Karen Van Eaton from assistant vice president officers to vice presidents. Parker has been with the bank for more than 12 years. Van Eaton joined the bank in 2005.

John Roewe has been promoted to senior vice president/chief credit officer for RiverBank. He has been with the bank since 2011. The company also promoted Nell Ayer to vice president of operations and BSA officer; and the bank has expanded Shawn Murphy’s duties as vice president/cash management and financial services manager and security officer to include deposit and cash management relationship development. Ayer joined the company in 2008. Murphy has been with the bank since 2006.


• The following individuals and organizations were recognized during the Spokane Pharmacy Association’s 2012 Annual Awards Banquet: Pharmacy Technician of the Year, Anna Johnson of Community Health Association of Spokane; Pharmacist of the Year, Lynn Evenson of Valley Hospital Pharmacy; Pharmacy Student of the Year, Vicky Choi of Washington State University School of Pharmacy; Pharmacy of the Year, Owl Pharmacy of Cheney, Medical Lake, Fairfield and north Spokane; and Speaker of the Year, Stephen Setter of Gerimed Consulting.

Dr. Jonathan Keeve was recognized as the 2012 Jingle Bell Run/Walk medical honoree by the Arthritis Foundation. Dr. Keeve is a surgeon at Northwest Orthopaedic Specialists.


• Certified Risk Managers International presented Debbie Dunlop with a Certified Risk Manager (CRM) designation. Dunlop is a Certified Insurance Counselor for Buck and Affiliates-West.

Interior design

Angie Everstine has been named a new owner of Design Source Inc. Everstine, who has been with the company for 16 years, will also continue to serve as principal and project manager.


• Attorney Tim Lawlor has been named in the 2013 publication of the Best Lawyers in America in the practice of eminent domain. He is a partner at Witherspoon Kelley law firm in Spokane.


• The Association of Washington Business (AWB) presented Jubilant HollisterStier of Spokane with a 2012 Manufacturing Excellence Award for Operational Excellence.


Rich Hartzell has been elected 2012-2013 board president for the Washington State Fairs Association. Hartzell is director of the Spokane County Fair and Expo Center.

• The Washington Refuse and Recycling Association named Dustin Bender 2012 Manager of the Year. Bender is general manager of Sunshine Disposal and Recycling offices in Spokane.

Alexa Shortell has opened Kiss and Make-Up salon, located at 114 W. Pacific Ave., Suite 204 in Spokane. The business specializes in eyelash extensions, waxing services, facials, custom airbrush and make-up application.

Real estate

• EXIT Realty Corporation International presented Nickolay Grishko with a Bronze Award for excellence in production. Grishko is an agent with EXIT Real Estate Professionals in Spokane.


Ray Sprinkle has been named president and CEO of URM Stores Inc. beginning March 1, 2013. He will succeed Dean Sonnenberg, who will retire at the end of February after 37 years with URM. Sprinkle has been with the company for nine years and has more than 30 years of grocery industry experience.

• The Moscow Food Co-op has hired Melinda Schab as general manager. She has been with the co-op for the past six years.