Arrow-right Camera



Thu., Feb. 9, 2012

Announced It appears Santonio Holmes is sticking around – just as the New York Jets said he would. By remaining on the roster through the second day of the NFL’s waiver period Tuesday, the talented but troublesome wide receiver will get $15.25 million in guaranteed money over the next two seasons. A clause in Holmes’ contract, signed last offseason, kicked in Wednesday morning. Holmes’ future appeared murky with the Jets after a tumultuous season in which he feuded with quarterback Mark Sanchez and offensive linemen.

• Reining WNBA MVP Tamika Catchings is staying with the Indiana Fever. She signed a free- agent contract. Terms were not disclosed. She has played 10 seasons in the league, all with the Fever. She has been among top-five finishers in MVP balloting nine times.

• The Los Angeles Sparks signed four-time WNBA All-Star Alana Beard to a free-agent contract. Agreed Former Seattle Mariner Russell Branyan agreed to a minor league contract with the New York Yankees and will try to win a bench job as a corner infielder during spring training. The 36-year-old has a .232 career average with 194 home runs in 14 major league seasons with 10 teams.

• Shortstop Elvis Andrus and the Texas Rangers finalized a $14.4 million, three-year contract that avoided salary arbitration. He gets a $750,000 signing bonus and salaries of $2,375,000 this year, $4.8 million in 2013 and $6,475,000 in 2014. He then becomes eligible for free agency. Andrus, 23, hit a career-best .279 with 37 stolen bases last year when the Rangers won their second consecutive American League pennant.

Hired The Chicago Bears hired Tim Holt as their offensive line coach. The move completes the coaching staff for next season. Holt takes over for Mike Tice, who was promoted to offensive coordinator after the departure of Mike Martz.

Selected All-Star Blake Griffin and rookie guards Kyrie Irving and Ricky Rubio headline the list of 18 NBA players chosen for the Rising Stars Challenge to be held during All-Star weekend. In this year’s new format, first- and second-year players will be mixed in the game on Feb. 24 in Orlando, Fla. Other second-year players chosen were John Wall (Washington), DeMarcus Cousins (Sacramento), Landry Fields (New York), Paul George (Indiana), Gordon Hayward (Utah), Greg Monroe (Detroit), Tiago Splitter (San Antonio) and Evan Turner (Philadelphia). Other rookies are Kemba Walker (Charlotte), MarShon Brooks (New Jersey), Brandon Knight (Detroit), Kawhi Leonard (San Antonio), Markieff Morris (Phoenix), Tristan Thompson (Cleveland) and Derrick Williams (Minnesota).


Click here to comment on this story »