Rosauers field looks impressive

TUESDAY, JULY 10, 2012, 10:44 P.M.

Several past champions are in the field for the 25th annual Rosauers Open Invitational, which begins a five-day run today at Indian Canyon Golf Course.

The Bank of America Pro-Am is today and Thursday, followed by the 54-hole tournament proper Friday-Sunday. The event is one of five majors in the PGA’s Pacific Northwest Section.

The field includes players who have won the last four Rosauers: Corey Prugh (2011, 2009), Kyle Kelly (2010) and Jeff Coston (2008). Coston, who won titles in 2006 and 1997, is the tournament’s only three-time champion. Michael Roters, low professional at the Lilac City Invitational last week, is among 164 players chasing the $11,000 first-place check.

“It’s a deep field,” said Indian Canyon pro Gary Lindeblad, who won the championship in 1990. “We have so many good players in our section.”

Coston and Prugh (pictured) qualified for the PGA Championship by placing in the top seven at the PGA Professional National Championship a few weeks ago.

Tags: golf

Click here to comment on this story »

Back to Spokesman Mobile