June 16, 2012 in Washington Voices

East Valley students meet Sen. Cantwell on D.C. trip

By The Spokesman-Review

East Valley students Jessica Fray, Devin Hobbs, Shea Gorman, Denika Florence and Shelby Bollman recently met with Sen. Maria Cantwell, third from right.
(Full-size photo)

Students from East Valley High School traveled to Washington, D.C., last month and met with Sen. Maria Cantwell.

The students, Jessica Fray, Devin Hobbs, Shea Gorman, Denika Florence and Shelby Bollman, asked Cantwell questions about the federal government and her views on issues as part of the Close Up Foundation Washington High School Program.

The students received sponsorships for the trip from Gus Johnson Ford and Dave Andrews of Therapeutic Associates.

Teacher Lori Merkel accompanied the students.

CV summer school signup to end on Wednesday

The deadline to register for summer school in the Central Valley School District is Wednesday. Programs are available for elementary, middle and high school students.

For program information or to register, visit www.cvsd.org/ summer_school.asp or call (509) 228-5413.

WV photography students selected for convention

West Valley photography students were selected to display their work at the international convention of the Photographic Society of America in San Francisco.

Katie Salmon’s photo, “Light,” was selected for the architecture category. Shaylin Munns’ photo, “Filling the Shoes,” was selected for the photo-journalism category and Quinn Gonder’s “Overgrown” was selected in the photographer’s choice category.

The photography students at West Valley High School also received “Select” awards at the Washington State High School Photography Contest held in Kenmore, Wash. The photos are in the top 10 percent of the more than 4,000 photos submitted.

The students honored were Olivia Woerhlin, Sam McGhee, Gonder, Salmon in two categories, Megan Styborski and Cody Groenthal.

EV teachers earn national certification

The East Valley School District has announced five teachers who have earned their national board certification. The teachers are Colleen Sneider of East Valley Middle School, Debbie Hill of East Farms, Piper Porter, Lois Musser and Nicole Bess of Trent.

The district also announced the winners of the Jim Kuehnle Outstanding Educator Award for Excellence in Teaching scholarship for excellence in performance and high standards.

The winners of the scholarship are Tiffany Thompson of East Valley High School, Dave Smith of East Valley Middle School and Jill Shillam of Continuous Curriculum School.

Comcast foundation names scholarship winners

The Comcast Foundation has announced local recipients of its Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program.

Schools are asked to nominate students who demonstrate leadership abilities in school activities and who reflect a commitment to community services.

Recipients of the award in the greater Spokane Valley area are Justin Anderson of East Valley High School, Rosharon Jane Swank of Valley Christian School, David Ross of Central Valley High School and MacKenzie White of University High School.

The scholarship is for $1,000.

Thoughts and opinions on this story? Click here to comment >>

Get stories like this in a free daily email