Arrow-right Camera



Awarded Pittsburgh Penguins center Evgeni Malkin won the Hart Trophy on Wednesday night as the NHL’s most valuable player. The Russian superstar also collected the Art Ross Trophy as the league’s top scorer and the Ted Lindsay Award from his fellow NHLPA members as the NHL’s best player in ceremonies at Las Vegas. New York Rangers goalie Henrik Lundqvist won the Vezina Trophy. He topped an impressive list of Swedish winners. Ottawa’s Erik Karlsson won the Norris Trophy as the NHL’s top defenseman, and Colorado’s Gabriel Landeskog won the Calder Trophy as top rookie. Other winners: Boston forward Patrice Bergeron, Selke Trophy as top defensive forward; Florida’s Brian Campbell, Lady Byng Trophy for sportsmanlike play; Montreal forward Max Pacioretty, Masterton Trophy for his comeback from serious injury; St. Louis’ Ken Hitchcock, Jack Adams Trophy as top coach; and Blues general manager Doug Armstrong top executive.

Resigned NCAA director of enforcement Bill Benjamin resigned, eight months after taking the job. An NCAA official said Benjamin left to “pursue other opportunities.”

Signed The San Francisco 49ers signed top draft pick wide receiver A.J. Jenkins to a four-year contract. He was the 30th overall draft pick out of Illinois. He had 90 catches for 1,276 yards in his senior season

Died Former NBA and ABA player Dennis Hamilton has died. He was 68. Hamilton played for the Los Angeles Lakers in 1967-68, playing in the NBA Finals his rookie season, and with the Atlanta Hawks in 1968-69. He played a season for the ABA’s Pittsburgh Pipers and another for the Kentucky Colonels in 1970-71. Hamilton was a three-year starter at Arizona State, scoring more than 1,000 points.

Retired Three-time Pro Bowl defensive tackle Marcus Stroud is retiring after a decade in the NFL. Stroud is planned to sign a one-day contract with the Jacksonville Jaguars before calling it quits. A first-round draft pick from Georgia in 2001, Stroud spent seven years in Jacksonville. He was voted a Pro Bowl starter in 2003, 2004 and 2005.


Click here to comment on this story »