Chiefs’ yearly award winners

• Player of the Year and John “Hitman” Hern Defenseman of the Year: Brenden Kichton. Kichton leads the Chiefs in scoring with 72 points. He is the only defenseman in the WHL to lead a team in scoring.

• Players’ Player: C Mike Aviani. Aviani, voted on by Chiefs’ roster, has scored 13 goals, 44 points and is plus-28.

• Coaches Award: D Corbin Baldwin. Baldwin earned inaugural award as the unsung hero on the roster, setting career highs in every category this season.

• Ironman Award: C Steve Kuhn. Kuhn holds the franchise record for most consecutive games played (286). His streak is the fourth longest in WHL history.

• Rookie of the Year: C Liam Stewart. Stewart scored 14 goals and 25 points in his first 65 games with Spokane and leads all WHL rookies with four short-handed goals.

• Ken Rabel Most Sportsmanlike: RW Mitch Holmberg. Holmberg has 26 goals and 54 points in 65 games with just eight minor penalties this season.

• Humanitarian of the Year: LW Darren Kramer. Kramer, the 20-year-old captain, won for giving back to the community through numerous endeavors.

• Scholastic Player of the Year: D Reid Gow. Gow, with a 95 percent cumulative in his four classes, scored 13 of his 20 points this season on the power play.

Click here to comment on this story »



Contact the Spokesman

Main switchboard:
(509) 459-5000
Customer service:
(509) 747-4422
(509) 459-5400
(800) 789-0029
Back to Spokesman Mobile