Arrow-right Camera


Area officials work postseason tournaments

A half-dozen Spokane-area officials were selected to work in postseason basketball tournaments.

Randy Burkhart and Mike Peterson both worked in the West Coast Conference men’s tournament. Burkhart also officiated in the Pac-12 tournament and Peterson in the College Invitational Tournament.

Justin Shamion was selected for the Great Northwest Athletic Conference tournament and a Division II regional; Nate Harris worked the GNAC and Northwest Athletic Association of Community Colleges tournaments; Toby Doolittle the NWAACC; and Steve Arredondo the NAIA Frontier Conference tournament.

College scene

Washington’s women’s track and field distance medley relay team, which includes senior Jordan Carlson from Shadle Park and freshman Baylee Mires from Mead, was named the Student-Athletes of the Week for the week ending last Sunday.

The quartet made history by winning the first NCAA Indoor Championship in the history of the UW women’s program. Carlson ran the 400-meter leg and Mires the 800 in the meet in Boise.

Brad Whitley, a Washington junior from Central Valley, and Carlson are members of the Huskies’ indoor track and field teams named to Mountain Pacific Sports Federation All-Academic teams. Whitley also earned Pac-12 academic honorable mention.


Sierra Bezdicek, a sophomore at Mt. Spokane, shot a 10-over-par 152 on rounds of 77 and 75 to tie for 18th in the Kathy Whitworth National Invitational early last week at Mira Vista Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

There are more than 200 applicants annually for 70 spots in the junior girls golf championship. Bezdicek, the State 3A runner-up last spring, finished nine shots back of the winner.

• The Wandermere Women’s Golf Club will hold its annual breakfast on March 29 at the golf course.  Registration is at 8 a.m., with breakfast at 9 and golf beginning at 10. Call in advance to book a tee time. New members are welcome.

Info: 467-8895.

High school scene

The Greater Spokane League, in conjunction with the National Electrical Contractors Association and the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, announced the 12th annual winter sports season award winners.

The GSL, NECA and IBEW annually honor high school students who demonstrate superior balance in academics, athletics and community involvement. 

The winter selections by school with their sport:

Central Valley – Brooke Gallaway, basketball; Anthony Brommer, basketball.  Ferris – Maya Bowton, basketball; Mason Maxey, basketball. Gonzaga Prep – Jasmine Brown, basketball; Mac Johnson, basketball. Lewis and Clark – Lily Hoch, gymnastics; Henry Burgess-Marshall, basketball. Mead – Sara Benson, gymnastics;   Jordan Rogers, wrestling.

Mt. Spokane – April Smith, basketball; Sam Wilkes, wrestling. North Central – Kalen Via, basketball; Brad Pelton, basketball. Rogers – Jasmin Andrews, basketball; Blake Dewey, basketball.

Shadle Park – Aleisha Hathaway, basketball; Brett Boese, basketball. University – Tarah Chess, gymnastics; Kyle Cosby, wrestling.

Click here to comment on this story »