Arrow-right Camera


Troopers, firefighters honored for rescues

Sat., May 12, 2012

Two Idaho State Police troopers and two Coeur d’Alene firefighters who helped rescue two children trapped in a car overturned in Fernan Lake are among the 12 recipients of Idaho’s Medal of Honor.

Firefighter captain and paramedic Richard Halligan and firefighter and emergency medical technician Donald Porter of the Coeur d’Alene Fire Department assisted with the rescue, a news release from the state attorney general’s office said. ISP Cpl. Allen Ashby and Sr. Specialist Gerald Stemm also were credited with heroism in the rescue.

Other North Idaho officers who will receive the award this year are Reserve Officer Jason Ewing and Officer Dustin Hibbard of the Lewiston Police Department, who saved the life of a person trapped in a burning building.

Other recipients include Deputies Anthony Glenn and Chad Lenz of the Bonneville County Sheriff’s Office, Officer Malin Reynolds of the Idaho Falls Police Department, Officer Paul Alexander of the Idaho Department of Fish and Game, Sgt. John Kempf from the ISP and Officer Dennis Clark from the Jerome Police Department.

The Medal of Honor is Idaho’s highest honor for law enforcement, firefighters and EMS providers.

The awards will be distributed May 18 at the Idaho Peace Officers Memorial in Meridian.

Click here to comment on this story »