Arrow-right Camera
News >  Spokane

Spokane Transit to explain enhanced bus routes

Transit officials are stepping up their community discussion of creating a network of high-performing buses across the Spokane region.

They said they want to hear from riders and other members of the public at an open house today.

Spokane Transit Authority is kicking off an “STA Moving Forward” initiative from 4 to 6 p.m. on the second floor of the STA Plaza, 701 W. Riverside Ave.

Already, STA has applied for a federal grant to study high-performance buses on the No. 25 Division Street route.

A downtown-area line from the University District to Browne’s Addition has also been under comprehensive study.

The high-performance buses would move passengers faster and more frequently with 10-minute intervals, off-board ticketing, dedicated bus and business access lanes, and prioritization at traffic lights.

Any number of major routes used by commuters could see the high-performance concept, including the Cheney and Eastern Washington University routes and Spokane Valley commuter lines along Interstate 90.

A network plan that includes many urban routes has been endorsed by the STA board, with development occurring over the next five to 15 years.

During today’s open house, STA staff will be on hand to offer details about how high-performance transit works.

Susan Meyer, chief executive officer of STA, said planning now will allow STA to meet future and potentially growing demand for transit.

“Great transportation doesn’t just happen,” she said in a news release. “It takes a community working together.”

Top stories in Spokane

Ethics Commission: Mayor David Condon honest in handling of Frank Straub questions

UPDATED: 7:15 p.m.

updated  The final complaint targeting Mayor David Condon for his handling of the ouster of former Spokane Police Chief Frank Straub was unanimously dismissed by the city’s Ethics Commission on Wednesday, who said the complaint was fueled by opinions, not facts or evidence presented by former City Council President Joe Shogan.