November 1, 2012 in Washington Voices

CV High School stages ‘Nicholas Nickleby’

By The Spokesman-Review
Jesse Tinsley photoBuy this photo

Noah Rhodes, left, and Jordan Mullen, play the title character and his cruel Uncle Ralph Nickleby, respectively, in the Central Valley High School drama Department’s production of Charles Dickens’ “Nicholas Nickleby.” The show opens today.
(Full-size photo)

If you go

CV’s drama department presents Charles Dickens’ “Nicholas Nickleby” at the school today, Friday, Saturday, Monday and Tuesday. Shows start at 7:30 p.m. Tickets are $11 at the door and the box office opens at 6:15 p.m.

For more information, call the school business office at (509) 228-5100.

The drama department at Central Valley High School, 821 S. Sullivan Road, will present Charles Dickens’ “Nicholas Nickleby” today, Friday, Saturday, Monday and Tuesday. Shows start at 7:30 p.m.

Tickets are $11 at the door and the box office opens at 6:15 p.m.

The play follows Nicholas, whose father dies after losing all of his money in poor investments. Nicholas and his mother give up their rich life in Devonshire and move to London to live with their only relative, Nicholas’ Uncle Ralph.

Ralph is a cold and ruthless businessman and hates Nicholas from the start. Nicholas finds a job with Mr. and Mrs. Squeers and befriends a disabled boy, Smike. The two set out on a series of adventures as they work to find happiness and fortune.

The cast is: Patrick McGruder (Crumb) as Vincent Crummles; Josh Spencer as Mrs. Crummles/Mr. Bray; Jordan Mullen as Ralph Nickleby; Jacob Nolan as Newman Noggs; Robyn Dean as Mrs. Nickleby; Kennedi Newman as Kate Nickleby; Noah Rhodes as Nicholas Nickleby; Christopher Pittella as Wackford Squeers; Alanna Hamilton as Mrs. Squeers; Caroline Gile as Fanny Squeers; Nathan Mullen as Smike; Anika Martin as Madam Mantalini; Karissa Olson as Lady Hawk; Jed Jensen as Ned Cheeryble; Trent Dean as Charles Cheeryble; Mara Orenstein as Madaline Bray; Cassandra Turnbow as Lady Scaley/Peg; Kayla Lambert as Miss Snevellicci/first waitress; Becky Adamson as Miss Petowker/second waitress; Ryann McKinley as Miss Knag/Miss LaCreevy; Amanda Guarisco as Ninnetta/dress shop model; Kaylee Plumb as Pheobe/Ms. Bravarra/Snawley; Jacob Conant as Magistrate/Frank Cheeryble; Nik Floden as Brooker/police man/actor; Matt Busch as William/Arthur Gride; Ian Fullmer as Mr. Folair/Sir Frederick; Matthew Wartian as Bolder; Cassidy Freeman as Cobby; Tucker Dean as Graymarsh; Jaden Brooks as Crabtree; and Jaden Conwell as Gavin.

The technical crew is Ciara Wyckoff, Spencer Cole, Alexandria McLaughlin, Brent Handy, Devan Morgan, Shay Simon, Emily Boynton, MaKormick Claypool, Rachel Butler, Katelyn Zarecor, Valerie Beale, Laura Paige Stanley and David Stanley.

Thoughts and opinions on this story? Click here to comment >>

Get stories like this in a free daily email