Arrow-right Camera


In brief: Dickey, Price Cy Young winners

Thu., Nov. 15, 2012

MLB: Tampa Bay Ray David Price and knuckleballer R.A. Dickey of the New York Mets are baseball’s Cy Young Award winners. Price barely beat out 2011 winner Justin Verlander for the American League award Wednesday in one of the closest votes ever. Dickey (pictured above) was an easy choice for the N.L. honor in balloting by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America. The 38-year-old Dickey became the first pitcher who relied predominantly on a knuckleball to win the Cy Young Award, an achievement mentors such as Hall of Famer Phil Niekro are quite proud of. Runner-up two years ago in the Cy Young race, Price was the pick this time for the A.L.’s top pitching prize. He received 14 of 28 first-place votes to edge Verlander, chosen first on 13 ballots.

Associated Press

Indians release 2013 schedule

NWL: Change will be in the air when the Spokane Indians begin their Northwest League baseball season at home June 14 against Everett.

The Indians’ schedule, released Wednesday, again features 38 home games and 38 road games. But the NWL hasn’t remained static.

In past seasons, Spokane played in the NWL’s East Division with Yakima, Boise and Tri-City. The Yakima Bears have relocated to Hillsboro, Ore., splitting the league into North and South divisions instead. Spokane and Everett will play in the North with Tri-City and Vancouver. The South will include Hillsboro, Boise, Eugene and Salem-Keizer.

The NWL will also hold its second All-Star Game, hosted by Everett on Aug. 6. The first All-Star Game, in 2004, was in Spokane to celebrate the league’s 50th anniversary.

The season will again be divided in half, with first- and second-half divisional winners meeting for a spot in the NWL Championship.


Click here to comment on this story »