Arrow-right Camera
News >  Region

Washington House parties pick leaders

OLYMPIA – House Democrats have re-elected House Speaker Frank Chopp to lead their caucus, and House Republicans also kept Rep. Richard DeBolt, of Chehalis, as their leader.

Chopp and DeBolt were elected during caucus meetings Friday. Democrats also re-elected House Majority Leader Pat Sullivan, of Covington. Rep. Erick Pettigrew, of Seattle, was selected as majority caucus chairman, Rep. Kevin Van De Wege, of Sequim, was named majority whip and Rep. Tami Green, of Lakewood, is majority floor leader.

Rep. Joel Kretz, of Wauconda, was re-elected as deputy leader for House Republicans, Rep. Dan Kristiansen, of Snohomish, was re-elected as House Republican caucus chair, and Rep. J.T. Wilcox, of Yelm, was elected to serve as House Republican floor leader.

Senate Republican leadership elections will be held Nov. 28. Current minority leader, Sen. Mike Hewitt, of Walla Walla, announced Friday that he wouldn’t seek another term as leader. Sen. Ed Murray, D-Seattle, was elected as senate majority leader last week.