Trey Burke AP player of the year

Michigan guard Trey Burke has been named The Associated Press’ college basketball player of the year, and Miami’s Jim Larranaga has been named the AP’s coach of the year. Burke wasn’t able to attend the ceremony Thursday because he was with his Wolverine teammates preparing for the national semifinal against Syracuse on Saturday. Larranaga was on hand and spoke to the media afterward. Burke is the first Michigan player to win the award since Cazzie Russell in 1966. Burke got 31 votes, easily outdistancing Otto Porter Jr. of Georgetown, who had 16. Gonzaga’s Kelly Olynyk received four votes. Larranaga won his award with 29 votes. Jim Crews of Saint Louis was second with 19. Gonzaga’s Mark Few was third with 11 votes. – AP

Click here to comment on this story »

Saving for the future

sponsored According to two 2015 surveys, 62 percent of Americans do not have enough savings to handle an unexpected emergency, much less any long-term plans.



Contact the Spokesman

Main switchboard:
(509) 459-5000
Customer service:
(800) 338-8801
(509) 459-5400
(800) 789-0029
Back to Spokesman Mobile