April 11, 2013 in Sports

Hall nominees picked


NASCAR champion Dale Jarrett and racing magnate Bruton Smith are among the five new nominees for next year’s Hall of Fame class. Also on the list of 25 total nominees announced Wednesday are engine builder Maurice Petty, five-time NASCAR weekly series national champion Larry Phillips and 1960 champion Rex White. The other 20 nominees carried over from last year’s group. Five will be selected for induction by a 54-member panel on May 22. Smith, the CEO of Speedway Motorsports Inc., owns eight tracks that host 12 Sprint Cup races. Jarrett won the 1999 championship, and has 32 career Cup victories. – Associated Press

Get stories like this in a free daily email

Please keep it civil. Don't post comments that are obscene, defamatory, threatening, off-topic, an infringement of copyright or an invasion of privacy. Read our forum standards and community guidelines.

You must be logged in to post comments. Please log in here or click the comment box below for options.

comments powered by Disqus