Is this the year an Aussie will win Masters?

AUGUSTA, Ga. – Six former Masters winners and another quintet who each won at least one of the three other major championships won’t be around for the weekend at Augusta.

There were few surprises among the past Masters champions heading out of town. Mike Weir was the youngest of the group at 42, and his golf game hasn’t been sharp for a while.

Among the major winners departing were three former British Open winners – Padraig Harrington, Graeme McDowell and Louis Oosthuizen – and defending U.S. Open champion Webb Simpson.

Could it be Australia’s year?

An Australian golfer has never won the Masters. On the other hand, they’ve lost a few in heartbreaking fashion, most famously perhaps by Greg Norman – twice.

But if there’s ever a year that appears to have their name on it, this is the one.

Jason Day leads the tournament at 6 under and Marc Leishman is tied for second a stroke back. Adam Scott is in a crowd of seven players tied for seventh at 3 under, followed by John Senden, who is part of a six-way tie for 14th at 2 under.

Click here to comment on this story »

Saving for the future

sponsored According to two 2015 surveys, 62 percent of Americans do not have enough savings to handle an unexpected emergency, much less any long-term plans.



Contact the Spokesman

Main switchboard:
(509) 459-5000
Customer service:
(800) 338-8801
(509) 459-5400
(800) 789-0029
Back to Spokesman Mobile