Arrow-right Camera
News >  Features >  Washington Voices

Education Notes: ‘Music Man’ hits stage at St. George’s School

Professor Harold Hill, played by Jack Morrow, is surrounded by admirers (from left, Drew Doughty, Alaina Jacobsen, Natalie Johnson, Stephanie Hammett, Emily Guinn, and Malinda Wagstaff) in St. George’s School’s production of “The Music Man.”
Professor Harold Hill, played by Jack Morrow, is surrounded by admirers (from left, Drew Doughty, Alaina Jacobsen, Natalie Johnson, Stephanie Hammett, Emily Guinn, and Malinda Wagstaff) in St. George’s School’s production of “The Music Man.”

The drama students at St. George’s School will perform “The Music Man” beginning Wednesday in the school’s Founders Theater at 7 p.m. Performances continue April 26 at 7 p.m. and April 27 at 8 p.m.

The musical tells the story of professor Harold Hill, played by Jack Morrow, a fast-talking con man who comes to River City, Iowa, and promises the townsfolk he can teach their children how to play in a marching band if they buy instruments and uniforms from him. But the town librarian and piano teacher, Marian Paroo, played by Hailey Hyde, sees through him. Falling in love wasn’t part of the swindle, but the professor risks being caught to win Marian’s heart.

Other cast members are: Kira Renfro as Mrs. Paroo; Claire Bennett as Winthrop Paroo; Kyler Hayes as Marcellus Washburn; Trevor Lewis as Mayor George Shinn; Alaina Jacobsen as Eulalie Mackecknie Shinn; Caroline Hammett as Zaneeta Shinn; Kenna McIlraith as Gracie Shinn; Josias Michalko as Tommy Djilas/train rider; Jora Gleason as Amaryllis; Ethan Guinn as Charlie Cowell/farmer; Paul Lamontagne as Constable Locke; John Ogden as Ewart Dunlop/train rider; Jacob Withers as Oliver Hix/train rider; John Hatheway as Jacey Squires/train rider; Cade Martin as Olin Britt/train rider; Natalie Johnson as Maud Dunlop; Stephanie Hammett as Alma Hix; Drew Doughty as Mrs. Squires; Emily Guinn as Mrs. Britt; and Malinda Wagstaff as Ethel Toffelmeier.

The townspeople of River City will be played by Erin Armitage, Sarah Bertis, Allison Galow, Ethan Guinn, Angela Hickey, Kamila Mahaffy, Xin Yao, Jimmy Xie and Sophie Zhao. The River City teenager cast is Amanda Guinn, Allison Hayes, Hunter Hyde, Delfino Lin, Allison Milbrath, Peter Ogden and Anya Walker. The River City kids cast will be played by Lindsay Arnold, Ryan Hayes, Jennifer Milbrath, Olivia Osborne and Hailey Poutiatine.

Tickets are $7 for adults and $5 for students and senior citizens. Tickets may be purchased in advance at To reserve tickets and pay at the door, use the “show other payment options” link on

For more information call Elizabeth Tender at (509) 466-1636, ext. 301.

Meeting at Community School

The Community School will hold an informational meeting today for families of students entering ninth grade in the 2013-14 school year. The gathering will be in in the school’s cafe at 6:30 p.m. and will include a tour of the school.

The Spokane Public Schools’ project-based program provides students an opportunity to get a community-connected high school experience that is more personalized. The school is a member of the Big Picture Learning network.

The school is at 1300 W. Knox Ave. For more information, call (509) 354-6409.

Seventh- and eighth-grade students can apply for the College Bound Scholarship Program, a state-funded program administered by the Washington Student Achievement Council.

The program is a commitment to students whose families are unable to pay for college. In return, seventh- and eighth-graders must make a pledge to graduate high school with a cumulative grade-point average of 2.0 or higher on a 4.0 scale; promise to be good citizen in school, in the community and not be convicted of a felony; and apply for financial aid by completing the Free Application for Federal Student Aid by their senior year of high school.

In return, the College Bound Scholarship promises annual college tuition (at public institution rates) and a small book allowance.

Students may apply online College/CollegeBound/MiddleSchool or download an application and turn it in to their school counselor. Applications are due by June 30 of the student’s eighth-grade year.

Comcast awards scholarships

The Comcast Foundation recently announced Spokane and Spokane Valley recipients of its 2013-14 Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program awards. The students will receive $1,000 scholarships for serving as role models, being involved in their schools, and striving to make a positive change in their community.

The scholarship winners are Hailey Reneau, Central Valley; Jacqueline Swanson, West Valley; Hailee Zuck, University; Kalynn Moneymaker, Shadle Park; Carson Murray, Rogers; Bruce Radigan Culbertson, St. George’s; Miriam Taylor, Ferris; and Mikayla Wash, North Central.

In a release from Comcast, Charisse Lillie, president of the Comcast Foundation and vice president of the Community Investment of Comcast Corp., said “Comcast seeks students who demonstrate leadership abilities in school activities and who reflect a strong commitment to community service.  These students are our future leaders, and we hope these scholarships will help to power their dreams for success.”