Arrow-right Camera

Washington Voices

WVHS band boosters holding free craft fair

Sat., Dec. 14, 2013

The West Valley High School band boosters are having a craft fair from 9 a.m.-4 p.m. today at the school, 8301 E. Buckeye Ave.

There will be more than 100 booths and free admission.

The boosters will also host a holiday lights tour from 6-9 p.m. Friday.

The Alpha Omega bus will tour neighborhoods with festival lights. There will be carols, door prizes, a 50/50 raffle and a holiday attire contest.

The cost to attend the tour is $15. Seating is limited; order your tickets in advance by calling (509) 892-7620.

Both events will support the band and color guard, which is raising money for a trip to Disneyland in April.

For more information, call band director Jim Loucks at (509) 863-8494.

Freeman FBLA Cares 4 Kids

The Freeman High School chapter of Future Business Leaders of America will present its 11th annual Cares 4 Kids event.

Children in kindergarten through fifth grade can be dropped off at the school between 9 a.m. and 3 p.m. High school students will lead activities, including basketball, whiffle ball, crafts, movies, a jumping castle and games.

There will also be healthy snacks.

Students will accept donations to pay for the cost of the event. Extra funds will go to the FBLA chapter.

For more information, call FBLA adviser Scott Moore at (509) 291-3721. You can reserve a spot by phone or register at the door.

AP Scholars

Central Valley School District has announced more than 80 high school students who have earned 103 AP Scholar designations by the College Board for their achievements during the Advanced Placement exams taken last spring.

National AP Scholar is given to students who receive an average grade of at least 4.0 on all AP exams taken and grades of 4.0 or higher on eight or more of the exams. AP Scholar with Distinction is given to students who receive an average grade of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken and grades of 3.0 or higher on five or more. AP Scholar with Honor is given to students who receive an average grade of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken and grades of 3.0 or higher on four or more of the exams. AP Scholar is given to students who receive grades of 3.0 or higher on three or more AP exams.

National AP Scholar Award

Central Valley High School: Alexander Arachtingi, Emily Barkley, Donggyun Kim, Alexandria Moore, Joshua Ross, John Schutts, Alexander Wende and David Yuan

University High School: Kevin Maningas, Ansh Sehgal and Jordan Wing

AP Scholar with Distinction

Central Valley: Laruen Allen, Alexander Arachtingi, Emily Barkley, Derek Bischoff, Stephanie Brown, Josiah Brubaker, Alec Bumgarner, Michael Butler, Jacob Conant, Anthony Damico, Sela Foster, Philip Howard, Charles Kable, Donggyun Kim, Kylie LeBlanc, Haylee Millikan, Alexandria Moore, Brinley Poulsen, Natalie Riel, Joshua Ross, Curtis Schmitz, John Schutts, Zachary Termath, Derek Vasquez, Alexander Wende and David Yuan

University: Kirstin Bertsch, Sidney Cole, Alex Drexel, Jacob Drexel, Phoebe Lew, Dustin Liu, Kevin Maningas, Benjamin Rash, Ansh Sehgal, Devan Wedemeyer and Jordan Wing

AP Scholar with Honor

Central Valley: Katelyn Dolan, Robert Duggan, Karl Ellingson, Erin Golden, Anusha Gollapalli, Hailee Herbst, Ashlee McGovern, Cassie Miller, Katie Mullin, Gabrielle Peterson, Austin Seely, Brett Siddoway, Grayson Sykes, Emily Travo and Carly Wolf

University: Katelyn Dowling, Joseph Hall, Kelsey Jerome, Sydney Kaster, Conor Linehan, Samuel Polsin, Eric Roe, Andrew Simock, Brooke Skelton, Lauren Stubbers and Allison Thomas

AP Scholar

Central Valley: Claire Alves, Oscar Arreguin, Brock Benzel, Erik Bodrock, Danielle Bourgeois, McKenzie Britain, Ethan Chavez, Carlin Coulson, Aaron Croom, Josiah Cunningham, McKay Demars, Aidan Dowling, Hailey Ferguson, Alanna Hamilton, Lauren Himmelreich, Haley Hogberg, Alea Hovren, Liberty Johnson, Andrew Keeve, Jinhyuk Kim, Kaitlyn LeBlanc, Ryan McCauley, Michelle Nemeth, Mara Orenstein, Frank Petrilli, Tyler Pichette, Mitchell Sanders, Aubrey Spear, Laura Stanley, Jaclyn Urbanec, Kathryn Weisbeck and Ryan Wells

University: Jarred Biederstaedt, Anastasiya Bratchikova, Krystal Casteel, Nathaniel Collins, Brydon Eakins, Anna Edlund, Michael Fode, Rebecca Hall, Kendra Hamm, Jennifer Loehner, Rebekah Mulloy, Alyssa Partridge, Joshua Ramsey, Kylee Sabo, Courtney Sherick, Elizabeth Smith, Makinzee Thomas, Melody Wakeling, Hannah Wesselman and Ethan Whitney

Click here to comment on this story »