Arrow-right Camera

Basketball Hall of Fame finalists chosen

Tim Hardaway and former Seattle SuperSonics Gary Payton and Spencer Haywood are among 12 finalists for election into the Basketball Hall of Fame. Former Houston Cougars coach Guy Lewis has been chosen as a finalist for the first time since 2003. Louisville coach Rick Pitino and former UNLV coach Jerry Tarkanian also are finalists for the 2013 class. The others include former NBA stars Maurice Cheeks, Mitch Richmond and Bernard King, North Carolina women’s coach Sylvia Hatchell and five-time WNBA All-Star Dawn Staley. Celtics great Tom Heinsohn, already inducted as a player, is a finalist in the coaching category. – AP