Arrow-right Camera



Sun., Jan. 13, 2013

Assigned FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year Abby Wambach has been assigned to her hometown Western New York Flash of the new National Women’s Soccer League along with gold medal-winning American teammate Carli Lloyd. The U.S. Soccer Federation announced the allocation of 55 national team players to eight clubs in the league, which starts play this spring. The players include 23 Americans, 16 Canadians and 16 Mexicans, who will be backed by their national teams. Canadian star Christine Sinclair, who starred at the University of Portland, was assigned to the Portland Thorns along with fellow Canadian Karina LeBlanc and Americans Alex Morgan, Tobin Heath and Rachel Buehler. Goalkeeper Hope Solo and U.S. teammates Amy Rodriguez and Megan Rapinoe went to the Seattle Reign. Americans Sydney Leroux, Heather Mitts and Heather O’Reilly were assigned to the Boston Breakers, while Shannon Boxx and Amy LePeilbet were allocated to the Chicago Red Stars. Nicole Barnhart, Lauren Cheney and Becky Sauerbrunn went to FC Kansas City. Christie Rampone, Jill Loyden and Kelley O’Hara were assigned to Sky Blue, which will play in Piscataway, N.J. Ali Krieger, Lori Lindsey and Ashlyn Harris went to the Washington Spirit.

Injured The 14th-ranked Butler men’s basketball team lost its leading scorer when Rotnei Clarke hit a padded backboard stand with his left shoulder and was taken off the court on a stretcher during a game Saturday. Clarke leads Butler with 17 points ppg.

Agreed Despite missing most of last season, outfielder Nolan Reimold more than doubled his salary when he agreed to a $1 million, one-year contract with the Baltimore Orioles.

Awarded Maryland junior forward Patrick Mullins and North Carolina junior midfielder Crystal Dunn have won the Hermann Trophy as the top college soccer players in the U.S.

Out Coach Santiago Antunez said Cuban Dayron Robles, the 2008 Olympic 110-meter hurdles champion, will sit out the entire year because he is upset with his treatment from Cuban sports officials.


Click here to comment on this story »