Arrow-right Camera



Wed., June 12, 2013

Announced The Home Run Derby is going to have a New York feel. David Wright, the third baseman for the New York Mets, this year’s host for the All-Star game, has been named captain of the National League team. Robinson Cano, the crosstown rival Yankees second baseman, is going to lead the A.L. squad for the second straight year. The derby is scheduled for July 15 at Citi Field. Wright and Cano will choose three teammates each.

• Montana football coach Mick Delaney announced two former FBS players are transferring to play for the Grizzlies. Delaney said University of Washington wide receiver Jamaal Jones and Boise State fullback Jamal Wilson are transferring to Montana with three years of eligibility remaining.

• The new American Athletic Conference will hold its first men’s basketball tournament at the FedExForum in Memphis, Tenn., next March. All games will be televised by ESPN’s networks.

Sidelined The San Francisco Giants have put third baseman Pablo Sandoval on the 15-day disabled list because of a strained left foot. Infielder Nick Noonan was recalled from Triple-A Fresno to take Sandoval’s roster spot.

Agreed A person familiar with the situation says the Charlotte Bobcats have reached an agreement in principle with Hall of Famer Patrick Ewing to become their new associate head coach. Ewing spent five years as an assistant coach with the Orlando Magic working alongside Steve Clifford, who was hired as the Bobcats head coach last month.

Qualified Connecticut’s men’s basketball team, which was barred from the 2013 postseason because of past problems with its Academic Progress Rate, has qualified academically for next year’s NCAA tournament. The Huskies APR for the 2011-12 school year is 947 out of 1000, giving it a two-year score of 962.5, which meets the NCAA’s standard.

Signed Formula One champion Sebastian Vettel has signed a contract extension with the Red Bull team through the 2015 season. Vettel, who joined Red Bull in 2009, has won the last three F1 drivers’ titles. He has won 29 races and collected 51 podium places and 39 pole positions.


Click here to comment on this story »