Arrow-right Camera

Washington Voices

Education Notes: Area students receive state scholar awards

Thu., May 2, 2013

Seven Spokane Public Schools students recently won Washington Scholars awards.

The award is the highest academic honor given to Washington seniors, according to the district.

Principals nominate students based on academic achievement, leadership and community service. Representatives from high schools, colleges and state education agencies pick the winners. The Washington Student Achievement Council administers the program, in cooperation with the Washington Association of Secondary School Principals.

The Spokane Public Schools’ Washington Scholars are:

• Robert Harris and Esther Hunt, both of Shadle Park High School. Harris intends to study music and economics, and Hunt intends to study mathematics.

• Miriam Taylor and Yun Jung Kim, both of Ferris High School. Taylor intends to study international relations and Kim intends to study biomedical engineering.

• Hunter Mellema and M. Gage Stromberg IV, both of Lewis and Clark High School. Both intend to study engineering.

And, Joseph Bell, of North Central High School. Bell intends to study biochemistry.

Ferris team project wins STCU award

The Ferris High School DECA team Sweet Miracles was awarded $1,000 in the second annual Spokane Teachers Credit Union Hundred Dollar Project. Ferris was among 10 schools from Washington and Idaho that participated in the project.

The team joined forces with Ferris’ ProStart Culinary Class to bake and sell cupcakes at their school to raise money for their project. Using $100 from STCU and bake sale funds, Sweet Miracles set up booths for students to create and sign get-well cards for children at Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals in Spokane. More than 500 get-well cards were made.

The Sweet Miracles team is Thao Nguyen, Lainyce Noble and Katrina Rey.

Community members voted on projects at More than 2,500 votes were cast. Teams from Newport and Central Valley high schools won $2,500 and $1,500 respectively for their projects.

Other Ferris DECA teams that were finalists in the STCU project were the Nonwasted Weekends( Gerard Gaimari and Sydney Holiday); Mac & Cheese ( Jordyn Williamson, Annika Storey, Kiah Smith and Ashley Berry); UGM ( William Casey, Aleksandr Karpenko, Hayden Roth and Matthew Taylor); and Planes for Vanessa ( Matthew Beaulaurier, James Fisher III, Adam Hoiness, Alec Jolin and Logan Pintor).

Nonwasted Weekends held a drawing for a gift certificate to benefit Daybreak Youth Services; its donation totaled $134. Mac & Cheese made macaroni and cheese for the residents of Ronald McDonald House and donated a movie and $111. UGM made two picnic tables for Anna Ogden Hall and donated $19 to the charity. And Planes for Vanessa collected donations for paper airplanes that were flown into buckets for prizes and they also donated $134 to Vanessa Behan Crisis Nursery.

To submit news about your school, students and staff to the Education Notebook, send the details to or call (509) 459-5434.

Click here to comment on this story »