Arrow-right Camera

Spokane Empire

AFL releases realignment for 2014 season

Wed., Oct. 30, 2013, midnight

Arena football: Spokane will have a new division home for the 2014 Arena Football League season.

The Shock will join San Jose and newcomer Portland in the Pacific Division. The Shock remain part of the National Conference, which includes the West Division trio of Arizona, San Antonio and first-year franchise Los Angeles.

The American Conference will have eight teams split evenly into two divisions.

Portland and L.A. replace Chicago and Utah in the AFL lineup.

The 2014 playoff format will be announced in November.

Jim Meehan

Molina wins sixth-straight gold glove

MLB: St. Louis Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina has won his sixth straight Gold Glove award, making him one of four players in the World Series rewarded for superior defense this season.

Boston Red Sox second baseman Dustin Pedroia and right fielder Shane Victorino also were honored Tuesday, along with Cardinals pitcher Adam Wainwright.

Colorado third baseman Nolan Arenado became the 10th rookie to win a Gold Glove and first since outfielder Ichiro Suzuki in 2001. The Orioles and Royals had three winners apiece, tied for the most of any team.

• For complete list of winners, see Scoreboard, Page B6

Associated Press

There is one comment on this story »