Arrow-right Camera
News >  Features >  Washington Voices

Spokane Symphony’s ‘Nutcracker’ to feature 76 youth dancers

Seventy-six local dancers are preparing for Christmas and the Spokane Symphony’s annual production of “The Nutcracker.”

The dancers were among 115 children, ages 6-18, who auditioned for Peggy Goodner Tan, from 16 area dance studios. The 52 students and 24 alternates will join professionals from State Street Ballet, of Santa Barbara, Calif., and the Spokane Symphony in the traditional holiday favorite Dec. 5 through Dec. 8 at the Martin Woldson Theater at the Fox.

This year’s ballet will be choreographed by State Street Ballet’s founder and artistic director, Rodney Gustafson.

The local dance students chosen to perform in the 2013 production of “The Nutcracker” are, as children in the party scene: Tucker Edwards, Riley Ellyson, Juliana Murphy, Genesea Nibler, Thomas Stenzel, Owen Swanson, Samantha Warren and Anna Wirthlin.

The mice, in the battle against the Nutcracker and his army and the Mouse King: Logan Brophy, Rachel Harwood, Ireland Luiten, Haley Morris, Jaylyn Oka, Kendra Potratz, Anna Rude and Madeline Tinney.

The soldiers will be danced by Ava Aleto, Jaymie Belknap, Sarah Braun, Sophie Chambers, Tucker Edwards, Paige Fiske, Stephanie Gady, Hayden Jeremiah, Clare Kittlestved, Sarah Lester, Mackenzie Lewis, Elizabeth McKenna, Jenika Staben, Julia Russell and Elizabeth Horner.

The angels, who open the second act, will be danced by Clare Anderson, Victoria Bybee, Ashley Cartledge, Annika Erickson, Anissa Martinez, Anna Naddy, Sarah Seeberger, Sarah Storey, Meghan Wells, Ariana Woodard and Taylor Yocum. The little angels will be danced by Grace Anderson, Cascade Donally, Madison Ediger, Dinah Gardner, Teayona Hoard, Summer Jeremiah, Yvette Kraft, Marlena Mizzoni, Sarah Schlegel, Kiersty Staben and Stacy Watts.

And, the Land of Sweets will be filled with bon-bons, danced by Nadia Banka, Jessica Cochran, Jadyn Cartledge, Haley Cartledge, MacKenzie Ediger, Avery Ellingwood, Sophia Falter, Emma Finkle, Madeline Gilmore, Kelsey Koch, Olivia Lofstedt, Lucy Lynn, Bianca Massman, Emily Mullins, Bryndel Pargman, Kierra Perkins, Emily Pence, Sofie Presho, Serena Shannon, Kailee Swenson-Poosri, Ava Walter, Piper Warren, Madeleine Wilson and Julia Wirthlin.