Education Notebook: LCHS Journal holding used book sale

The newspaper staff at Lewis and Clark High School will hold a used book sale Saturday at the Community Building, 35 W. Main Ave., beginning at 9 a.m.

The LCHS Journal is one of the last high school newspapers still in print in the area. Money raised from the sale will benefit the publication that has been informing LC’s students for more than 100 years.

For more information call (509) 354-6940 or email jennifersh@spokaneschools.org.

Prep senior recognized

Maloney Foster, a senior at Gonzaga Prep, was recognized for his community spirit when he received the Ignatian Service Award.

As a volunteer in his community, he has shared his time at the Martin Luther King Center and Mobius Science Center. He has also been a member of the Thanksgiving Food Drive Committee for three years. The food drive is put on by Prep each year and collects more than 100,000 pounds of food for local food banks and families in need.

Foster holds a 4.0 GPA and is a member of the National Honor Society. He is on the schoo’s tennis and cross-country teams, a two-time city debate champion and a member of the school’s Knowledge Bowl team.

This past summer, Foster was selected among 120 students internationally to study leadership at the University of Notre Dame.

In a news release from Prep, Neil Kempen, Prep’s Community Service Program coordinator, said “Maloney is a person that I deeply admire. Maloney will do great things with his life.”

Foster is the son of Michael and Kathryn Foster of Spokane.

Students earn AP awards

Students in the Spokane Public Schools District earned AP Scholar status for their academic excellence on their college-level Advanced Placement Program exams.

National AP Scholar is the award given to students who receive an average grade of at least 4.0 on all AP exams taken and grades of 4.0 or higher on eight or more of the exams. AP Scholar with Distinction is given to students who receive an average grade of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken and grades of 3.0 or higher on five or more. AP Scholar with Honor is given to students who receive an average grade of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken and grades of 3.0 or higher on four or more of the exams. AP Scholar is given to students who receive grades of 3.0 or higher on three or more AP exams.

National AP Scholar

Lewis and Clark: Jacob Frederick, David Li, Colin McCarthy, Erin Muat, Gage Stromberg, Colin Webster

North Central: Lisa Gay

Rogers: Viktoria Ramm

AP Scholar with Distinction

Ferris: David Eager, Allison Grefsrud, Sarah Johnson, Yunjung Kim, Jenna Muller, Logan Parr, Grace Pochis, Travis Thorne

Lewis and Clark: Grace Baker, Emma Bracy, Serena Caryl, Caroline Cunningham, John Cunningham, Gabrielle Endicott, Alexander Engelbertson, Jacob Frederick, Aidan Griffith, Jacob Hagen, Caitlyn Hughes, Ruxandra Ionescu, Riley Jessett, Joseph Johnson, Ellen Kaczmarek, Jacob Keith, James Kennedy, Margaret Korus, Miranda Lee, David Li, Marie Lin, Maddie Lobdell, Matthew Madany, Mia Martincic, Flora Martz, Colin McCarthy, Zachary McMaster, Hunter Mellema, Markie Mickelson, Elizabeth Miller, Jenna Millsap, Claire Mitchell, Erin Muat, Christopher O’Donnell, Jackson Peven, Julio Marco Pineda, Emma Sell, Gage Stromberg, Colin Webster, Cody Yoder

North Central: Joey Bell, Jenna Bennasser, Kellyann Cameron, Thomas Colvin, Cassidy Eklof, Lisa Gay, Joshua Hiler, Samuel Holland, Rachel Klein, Kathryn Knight, Alex Ruff, Ben Smith, Nikolaus Taylor, Kyle Thomas, Jefferson Van Wagenen, Taylor Wilmot

Rogers: Viktoria Ramm

Shadle Park: Adam Amr, Joshua Campbell, Daniel Fryett, Robert Harris, Esther Hunt, Sawyer Moore, Jordan Nichols, Rachel Perrier

AP Scholar with Honor

Ferris: Elizabeth Brouwer-Wade, Karl Cranney, Hallie Ervin, Philip Johnson, Cedar Kelly, David Lin, Paige Organick, Nicholas Pochis, Kayla Rinaldi, Jake Wagner, Bradley Yount

Lewis and Clark: Meghan Andrews, Brynn Campbell, Cooper Cherel, William Dubiel, Karsten Eckert, Eric Erkela, Franklin Faust, Siobhan Flanagan, Connor Gu, Austin Hagel, Samual Hatfield, Katie Heitkemper, Davis Mathieu, Lauren Merrithew, Joseph Mouser, Carter Powers Beggs, Madison Rasmussen, Jacob Reed, Frank Robinson, Madeleine Rush, Diana Rusnov, Vladislav Sipko, Brianna Smith, William Voves, Carl Wall, Connor Walsh

North Central: Nickole Ceniceros, Joshua Hart, Austin Johnson, Duncan Mize, Connor Sandstrom, David Seaman

Rogers: Miles Fowler, Maria Grisafi

Shadle Park: David Beck, Matt Buchheit, Michael Choma, Hunter Croft, Tyler Gaither, Camina Hirota, Megan Larson, Nathan Lungstrom, Raychel Martin, Leon Pan, Caleb Rier, Cyla Sparks

AP Scholar

Ferris: Devin Arguinchona, Austin Batt, Madison Bertis, Kaylen Blue, Gabrielle Boettner, Sara Bray, Killian Campbell, Salanyaporn Chalardsoontorn, Andrew Chuang, Adam Croteau, Matthew Estremera, Trevor Fennessy, Eli Geranios, Trevor Glover, Elyssa Hanson, William Helman, Cody Holland, Levi Johnson, Tyler Kirkpatrick, Anna Larson, Katheryn Mann, Haley Momany, Elisa Osborne, Ethan Reid, Molly Rubens, Jason Sanders, Nathan Schaal, Jared Schmick, McKenzee Sturm, Miriam Taylor, Corey Tomlinson

Lewis and Clark: Katie Ahern, Michael Bageant, Shaun Benoit, Kyle Briggs, Layne Carter, Layne Caruso, Connor Colestock, Olivia Cook, Andrea Felice, Brooke Filanoski, Anna Foster, Matthew Foster, Brianna Freeman, Carson Fuhs, Rosemary Gentle, Elliana Giampietri, Madison Green, Colin Hardie, Natalie Hoogner, Jens Huber, Erin Kaya, Anna Kerr, Nicholas Law, Anastasia Lebedinski, Carolina Lopez, Katherine Lovell, Brennen Maguire, Spencer McLeod, Danijel Milovanovic, Michael Moline, Eamonn Neff, Stacia Olsen, Daniel Palomba, Marie Pariseau, Jadyn Parsons, Monique Peterson, Madison Quantock, John Remington, Casey Richard, Emera Riley, Elliot Robison, Liam Rogalski, Henrietta Schafhausen, Avery Scheiwiller, Sage Scheiwiller, Alexandra Smith, Natasha Stanko, Benjamin Thompson, Paul Vogeler, William Ward, Zachary Wildon, Xiaowei Yuan, Mario Zavala

North Central: Mallory Biggar, David Blue, Taylor Brown, Kaitlyn Chapman, Joseph Davis, Olivia Devleming, Nelson Dunn, Marissa Easter, Nicole Ecklund, Austen Frostad, Jennifer Haldeman, Lauren Hare, Sabrina Judson, Kylena Kerr, Jane Ligon, Kienen Loe, Cassidy Long, Kyle Miller, Christina Ormsby, Emily Richardson, Kara Stermer, Emily Stewart, Tanner Streicher, Rand Tucker, Keith Williams

Rogers: Kemal Donlic, Jacob Durant, Richard Gaines, Emily Gilbertson, Gloria Hill, Nicholas Kaley, Tiana Lo, Patrick Mills, David Moody, Carson Murray, Jasmin Omazic, Jarid Patterson, Bailey Phillips, Ryan Rijon, Kelsey Simpson, Bao Tran, Samantha Turner

Shadle Park: Michael Arnold, Kendall Curtis, Hannah Dummitt, Hannah Gearhardt, Nicholas Lungstrom, Alyssa Poffenroth, Jacob Stailey, Kortney Thornburg, Miranda Weipert, Myranda Willard

To submit news about your school, students and staff to the Education Notebook, send the details to raineyc@spokesman.com or call (509) 459-5434.

Click here to comment on this story »


Complete interview with Gabe Marks

Our most recent story about prolific Washington State wide receiver Gabe Marks tells the story of a particularly insightful interview we had last spring. That story, "Gabe Marks is a ...

Weekend Wild Card — 7.23-24. 16

I'm facing another weekend of fence-building with my neighbor. Once we get the back fence built, I have one last honey-do item on the agenda and then it's kick back ...

You have 50 choices

S-R intern Tyson Bird brought cookies to work on his last day with us. It has been a pleasure to have him here. I first printed a column submission from ...

Saving for the future

sponsored According to two 2015 surveys, 62 percent of Americans do not have enough savings to handle an unexpected emergency, much less any long-term plans.



Contact the Spokesman

Main switchboard:
(509) 459-5000
Customer service:
(800) 338-8801
(509) 459-5400
(800) 789-0029
Back to Spokesman Mobile