Arrow-right Camera

Washington Voices

Education Notebook: Public schools to hold Q&A

Thu., Sept. 26, 2013

Spokane Public Schools officials will be answering questions from the public during “Educating Spokane” at 7 tonight on KSPS channel 7.

SPS Superintendent Shelley Redinger, school board Vice President Susan Chapin and Director Jeff Bierman will answer questions and respond to comments from the public. Chief Academic Officer Steven Gering will discuss the district’s new T-2-4 goal during the second half of the show.

Listeners may text or call (509) 354-7711 or email to ask a question.

Meal applications due Oct. 11

Students in Spokane Public Schools will have until Oct. 11 to turn in their free or reduced-price meal applications.

Beginning Oct. 14, students who were on the meal program during the 2012-13 school year but have not turned in their applications will be changed to a paid meal status.

To participate in the free or reduced-price meal program, a new application is required every school year; only one application is needed per family; families may apply at any time during the school year and once the family is qualified, the application is good for the school year.

For more information and to fill out an application visit or call (509) 354-7270.

Students earn AP honors

Students at Cheney High School and St. George’s School earned AP Scholar status for their academic excellence on their college-level Advanced Placement Program exams.

National AP Scholar is the award given to students who receive an average grade of at least 4.0 on all AP exams taken and grades of 4.0 or higher on eight or more of the exams. AP Scholar with Distinction is given to students who receive an average grade of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken and grades of 3.0 or higher on five or more. AP Scholar with Honor is given to students who receive an average grade of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken and grades of 3.0 or higher on four or more of the exams. AP Scholar is given to students who receive grades of 3.0 or higher on three or more AP exams.

National AP Scholar

St. George’s: Bruce Culbertson and Taryn Stamper

National AP Scholar with Distinction

Cheney: Robert Cook, Ross Knutson, Sarah Oakes, Katherine Painter, Sophia Schwalbe

St. George’s: Sarah Bertis, Danielle Burns, Xiangyi (Hermia) Cai, Maxwell Choka, Alaina Jacobsen, Howard (Mark) Kenney Jr., Hannah Kwasman, Trevor Lewis, Niklas Ostersmith, Yuxuan (Ella) Qui, Brenna Russell, Sarah Wagstaff, Yanghongfan (Bill) Wang, Rong (Sophie) Zhao

AP Scholar with Honor

St. George’s: Liz Alexianu, Olivia Bridston-Orton, Tingyong Duan, Justin Heftel, Hailey Hyde, Erik Muelheims, Dana Parkin, Kashif Ravasia, Alexandra Wert

AP Scholar

Cheney: Shelby Beedle, Kelsey Fillmore, Hayden Gerstenkorn, Elizabeth Gill, Ashley Hall, Austin Harding, Aimee Jenkins, Kayla Magers, Rebecca Stevens, Jaden Stock, Michala Youmans

St. George’s: Myra Ahmad, Omair Ahmad, Tristan Armitage, Miranda Caputo, David Caulkins, Stephanie Hammett, Kyler Hayes, Chenxu (Teddy) Jiang, Harrison Jones, Hunter Olsen, Angelina Poole, Adithya Shekhar, Jacob Withers, Peter Worrall, Xin (Mic) Yao

To submit news about your school, students and staff to the Education Notebook, send the details to or call (509) 459-5434.

Click here to comment on this story »