April 26, 2014 in Washington Voices

‘Jekyll & Hyde’ takes U-Hi stage

By The Spokesman-Review
Colin Mulvany photoBuy this photo

The cast of the University High School production of “Jekyll & Hyde – The Musical.” Below, Joseph Hall as Hyde and Caitlin Duffey as Emma.
(Full-size photo)

If you go

“Jekyll & Hyde – the Musical”

When: Thursday through May 3 and May 8-10, 7 p.m.

Where: University High School, 12420 E. 32nd Ave.

Tickets: $10 in advance or $12 at the door.

Phone: (509) 228-5240.

The drama department at University High School is exploring its dark side after the musical comedy “Shrek” it produced last fall.

In “Jekyll & Hyde – the Musical,” Dr. Henry Jekyll experiments on himself to test a drug meant to cure his father’s mental illness. He ends up unleashing the evil inside him in the form of Edward Hyde.

The musical, described as a retro-Goth twist on the classic macabre tale, stars Joseph Hall as Dr. Jekyll/Mr. Hyde, Caitlin Duffey as Emma and Torey Routson as Lucy.

The supporting cast: Loren Mellick, Spencer Knudson, Hayden Griffith, Deaundra Shackleford, Kellan Walls, Lance Godfrey, Kevin Geissler, Austin Bolt, Mallory Carbon, Hailey Chiaccnia, Cody Easter, Gabrielle Elrod, Evan Figuracion, Matt Gerard, Rachel Getty, Lili Gorman, Rylee Harlan, Nic Harris, Caitlyn Horton, Zack Keto, Jewel Johnson, Josh Koester, Cassidee Lawrenson, Mikala Lingren, Becca Marsh, Mathias Oliver, Jeremie Pope, Colton Poplawski, Mackenzie Saladin, Jasmine Storey, Chenoa Turner, Hannah Vanhoff and Tyler Wiggen.

The stage manager is Rebecca Hall, and her crew is Easton Benson, Cameron Blegen, Landon Hart, Michael Scott, Kaylee Jo Haven, Kacey George, Bella Snider and Ryan O’Dea.

The director is George Green. Briane Green is the choreographer and Zack Baker is the music director.

Pioneer students take first place at Math is Cool

Fourth-graders from Pioneer School took home first place in the small schools division of Math is Cool at Saint George’s School on April 18.

The team is Josh Barr, Austin Christensen, Seth Bachman, Cameron Simonds, Sanjana Sharma, Toby Kast, Rachel Stelling, Sarah Hamilton, Neharika Sharma, Neha Kommareddy, Mathew Wasson and Amanda Alexander.

The team’s coaches are Betty Wolf and Tami Christensen.

Thoughts and opinions on this story? Click here to comment >>

Get stories like this in a free daily email