January 26, 2014 in Features

Book Notes: Readings, singing Reedy set to hit Auntie’s

By The Spokesman-Review

Trent Reedy will be reading and singing from his new young adult novel at Auntie’s Bookstore on Saturday.

Yes, that’s right, singing. Reedy wrote songs for his main character’s favorite country star, Hank McGrew. And he promises to sing snippets.

“Divided We Fall” is the first book in a triology about a 17-year-old Idaho National Guardsman.

Daniel Wright’s guard unit is called up to help control a protest in Boise. His gun misfires, spooking others in the crowd. More shots are fired and 12 people die.

Daniel’s shot, Reedy said, is the catalyist that brings down the U.S. government, as Idaho’s governor refuses to follow orders from the president and federal government.

Reedy served in the Iowa and Washington National Guard. He is a former high school English teacher who now works in the writing center at Eastern Washington University. He previously published “Words in the Dust” and “Stealing Air.”

He brings his National Guard experience to his writing. For instance, Daniel has the same job he had – combat engineer.

But more importantly, “I share an understanding with Daniel Wright in terms of that sense of obligation of duty.”

“Divided We Fall” is available starting Tuesday. Reedy said the audio book has full tracks from the fictional McGrew, sung by a professional.

Reedy said the second and third books, “Burning Nation” and “The Last Full Measure,” are planned for 2015 and 2016.

The “Divided We Fall” launch is at 4 p.m. Saturday at Auntie’s, 402 W. Main Ave.

Boswell next up at GU

Gonzaga University’s Visiting Writers Series continues Wednesday with a reading by Marshall Boswell.

He plans to read from “Red State Blue,” his novel manuscript.

He describes the novel as being a domestic comedy in the tradition of Tom Perrotta and John Updike. It centers on Lucius Duvall, a married Southern liberal and ardent Obama man who is filled with helplessness and dread during the 2008 election. He meets Julie, a recent divorcee also unhinged by the election, and they have an affair.

Boswell is the T.K. Young Professor of English at Rhodes College in Memphis, Tenn. He’s published two works of fiction – the story collection “Trouble With Girls” and the novel “Alternative Atlanta” – as well as scholarly works on Updike and David Foster Wallace.

He also plays the guitar – badly, according to his online bio – and once was in a band that opened for both Alex Chilton and Uncle Tupelo.

Boswell’s reading is at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday in the Cataldo Globe Room. It’s free.

Thoughts and opinions on this story? Click here to comment >>

Get stories like this in a free daily email