Arrow-right Camera


Maurice Petty, four others inducted in to NASCAR Hall of Fame

Thu., Jan. 30, 2014

The Petty dynasty is now completely represented in the NASCAR Hall of Fame. Crew chief Maurice Petty (pictured) was formally inducted Wednesday night into the Hall, joining his father, brother and cousin as members of the exclusive group. Maurice Petty was the first member of the fifth class to be inducted during Wednesday night’s ceremony. “The Chief” was inducted by brother Richard Petty. Maurice Petty is the first engine builder to be inducted into the Hall. His engines won seven titles and more than 200 races, including seven Daytona 500s. Also in the Hall from the Petty Enterprise dynasty is patriarch Lee Petty, and the Petty boys’ cousin and crew chief, Dale Inman. Also inducted Wednesday were Fireball Roberts, Tim Flock, Jack Ingram and Dale Jarrett. – AP

Click here to comment on this story »