Arrow-right Camera


Business beat

Sun., March 23, 2014

Have an item for Business Beat? Send it to businessbeat@


RBC Wealth Management has named Garth Holbert and Jared Karstetter to RBC Wealth Management’s President’s Council. Membership in the President’s Council recognizes outstanding performance, professional growth, and demonstrated leadership in client service. Holbert and Karstetter are financial advisers and senior vice presidents in the Spokane office.

Brian Hubbell, of Northwestern Mutual’s Hubbell Network Office, has been named a recipient of the 2014 Western Region Leader Award by Northwestern Mutual. This award recognizes Hubbell’s outstanding year of performance in providing client financial security.


The Library Journal has named Clancy Pool as Paralibrarian of the Year in recognition of her professional growth and years of work in expanding library services at the Whitman County Rural Library District. Pool has been with WCRLD since 1992 and works as the branch services manager.


Len Pine, a police and fire chaplain with Boundary County, earned his certification as a Crisis Intervention Team officer. To earn this certification, Pine completed nearly 40 hours of training with the Idaho Peace Officer Standards and Training organization in substance abuse issues, autism, suicide intervention, dementia, PTSD, excited delirium, and legal issues.


Associated Industries has named Pam Pyrc as senior vice president of marketing and development. Previously, Pyrc worked as the director of marketing at Inland Imaging of Spokane. She has more than 25 years experience in marketing and communications.


The Harley–Davidson Motor Co. has awarded the Silver Bar and Shield Circle of Achievement Award to Lone Wolf Harley–Davidson. The award represents excellent customer service and sales performance.


Jake Krummel has been elected to Sustainable Resources Inland Northwest’s board of directors. Krummel is the downtown market manager at Numerica Credit Union.

Real estate

April Gleason has joined Prime Real Estate Group as a broker. Previously, Gleason owned an eco–friendly house cleaning service for which she earned the Northwest Entrepreneur award.

Dayna Chisum and Nate Gant have joined RE/MAX of Spokane as brokers. Chisum has been in the real estate industry for 10 years and was previously with Windermere Valley. Previously, Gant was with Prime Real Estate Group. He has been in the real estate industry for seven years.

Ron Gold has joined Keller Williams Realty Spokane. Previously, Gold was with Prudential Spokane.


Etailz has hired Jacob Kelley as a purchasing data entry clerk; Chenelle Smith as a purchase order administrator; and Ali Davey as a vendor onboarding specialist.


The 2014 Visit Spokane board officers have been announced as follows: board chair, Mike McLeod of DoubleTree by Hilton Spokane City Center; vice chair, Jody Sander of Sterling Hospitality; treasurer, Rodolfo Arevalo of Eastern Washington University; secretary, Cheryl Kilday of Visit Spokane; immediate past chair, Jim van Loben Sels of Arbor Crest Wine Cellars. Steve Salvatori of the city of Spokane and Chuck Hafner of the city of Spokane Valley have been named as new members of the board. Continuing members of the board are as follows: Marianne Guenther Bornhoft of Windermere Real Estate Manito; Joyce M. Cameron of the Providence Health Care Foundation; Matt Jensen of the Davenport Hotel Collection; Larry Krauter of Spokane Airports; Todd Mielke, Spokane County commissioner; Brenda Nienhouse of the Spokane Symphony and Martin Woldson Theater at The Fox; Stephen B. Pohl of NAI Black; Kevin Pribilsky of SYSCO Spokane; Jan Quintrall of the city of Spokane; Rita Santillanes of Best Western Peppertree Liberty Lake Inn; Gary Sutter of Northern Quest Resort & Casino; Kevin Twohig of the Spokane Public Facilities District; and Bryn West of River Park Square.

Kelsey Soukup, a director of national accounts at the Spokane Convention Center and member of the Visit Spokane team, has received the Shawn Corwin–Myland Award at the Convention Sales Professionals International Annual Conference in Washington, D.C. The award recognizes outstanding service in the convention sales industry and is one of the industry’s highest awards.


Christopher Phillips and Vladimir Perekopsky have achieved master technician certification from the National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence. Phillips is a maintenance supervisor and Perekopsky is a technician with Durham School Services, which provides transportation services for Spokane Public Schools, Saint George’s School and Nine Mile Falls School District.

Click here to comment on this story »