Arrow-right Camera

Scholar-athlete awards given

The Greater Spokane League, in conjunction with the National Electrical Contractors Association and the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, announced its 13th-annual scholar-athlete award winners for the winter sports season.

One male and one female who demonstrate superior balance in academics, athletics and community involvement are chosen from each of the 10 GSL schools. The winter winners:

Central Valley – Lauren Simpson, basketball; Justin Fayant, basketball. Ferris – Jensen Rye, basketball; Jill Louthian, basketball. Gonzaga Prep – Kayla Leland, basketball; Cole Sebert, wrestling. Lewis and Clark – Lindsey Lee, basketball; Dakota Numbers, wrestling. Mead – Thomas Kautzman, basketball; Ashlyn Lewey, basketball.

Mt. Spokane – Dallas Flager, basketball; Joe Preston, basketball; North Central – Megan Murphy, basketball; Marcus Saugen, basketball. Rogers – Mashayla Combs, basketball; Charles Smith, wrestling. Shadle Park – Amanda Konynenbelt, basketball; Eric Cooper, basketball. University – Taeler Hansen-Zoesch, cheerleading; Conor Linehan, basketball.

College scene

Patrick Simon, a Seattle Pacific senior from Ephrata and second-year transfer from Washington State, was a first-team selection on the NCAA Division II All-West Region men’s basketball team selected by the National Association of Basketball Coaches. In helping lead the Falcons to a 26-6 record and Great Northwest Athletic Conference regular-season and league tournament titles, Simon led the nation in 3-point accuracy at 50 percent (80 of 160) and finished with a school-record 3-point accuracy mark of 47.9 percent (146 of 305). He averaged 16.0 points per game this season, second on the team.


Trevor Fox, head pro at The Golf Club at Black Rock, and assistant pro Colin Carlson, had rounds of 66 and 72 for 138 to tie for 13th and win $612.50 in the Pacific Northwest Section PGA Pro-Assistant Championship at Royal Oaks Country Club at Vancouver, Wash., Monday and Tuesday. They had been tied for third after their first-round 66 in the four-ball competition. Also in the field of 61 teams were teams from Coeur d’Alene Golf Club ( Brent Walsh, Jim Colliflower and David Hobson), Avondale ( Dan Porter and Taylor Porter), Manito ( Steve Prugh and Brandon Blank) and Fairwood ( Rich Larson and Caleb Hung).

Tags: locally