Arrow-right Camera


Marshall wins Iba Award

Tue., March 25, 2014

Gregg Marshall, who led Wichita State to a 35-1 record and a No. 1 seeding in the NCAA tournament, has been selected as the recipient of the Henry Iba Coach of the Year Award, presented by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association.

Marshall, 51, led the Shockers to the Missouri Valley Conference regular season and tournament titles. For the fifth straight season, the Shockers won at least 25 games and Marshall’s career mark at Wichita State is 174-71.

TV ratings highest since 1993

CBS Sports and Turner Sports say viewership of the NCAA men’s basketball tournament is the highest since 1993.

The two networks, which share coverage of the tournament, released Nielsen numbers on Monday after the conclusion of the opening weekend of the tournament. The event averaged 9.227 million total viewers, which is up 4 percent from the same weekend last year, according to Nielsen.

The 5.9 rating averaged in U.S. households through the first six days is the highest number in 17 years, dating to the 5.9 scored in 1998.

Ohio’s Mr. Basketball headed to Duke

Luke Kennard, the 27th annual winner of Ohio’s A.P. Mr. Basketball award, has announced he’ll play college ball at Duke.

The 6-foot-6 junior averaged 41 points, 10.4 rebounds, 4.0 assists and 2 steals per game in the regular season for Franklin High School. His final five college choices were Duke, Ohio State, Kentucky, North Carolina and Michigan.


Click here to comment on this story »