Arrow-right Camera

The Spokesman-Review Newspaper The Spokesman-Review

Sunday, May 26, 2019  Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883
Partly Cloudy Day 66° Partly Cloudy
News >  Washington

Distracted drivers to face new penalties in Washington

Noah Berry  helps Allstate kick-off April’s National Distracted Driving Awareness Month by trying out the Reality Rides simulator in Austin, Texas, Tuesday, April 4, 2017. (Erich Schlegel / AP Images for Allstate)
Noah Berry helps Allstate kick-off April’s National Distracted Driving Awareness Month by trying out the Reality Rides simulator in Austin, Texas, Tuesday, April 4, 2017. (Erich Schlegel / AP Images for Allstate)
By Alexis Myers Associated Press

OLYMPIA – Holding a phone while driving in Washington state could become illegal in 2019 if Gov. Jay Inslee signs a distracted driving measure passed by the Legislature.

The bill cleared both chambers Wednesday and now heads to the governor’s desk. If approved by Inslee as expected, the measure would go into effect January 2019.

It would make it illegal to hold a phone or other electronic device while driving a car or when stopped at a traffic light. Some exceptions include contacting emergency services, amateur radio operators or messaging from transit system dispatch services.

Under the measure, the standard traffic fine of $136 would apply to a first offense, but would increase to about $235 on a second offense within five years. The first distracted driving offense would also be reportable to insurance companies, which could raise rates like any other moving violation.

Subscribe to the Morning Review newsletter

Get the day’s top headlines delivered to your inbox every morning by subscribing to our newsletter.

You have been successfully subscribed!
There was a problem subscribing you to the newsletter. Double check your email and try again, or email webteam@spokesman.com