Arrow-right Camera
News >  Idaho

Idaho Press Club presents annual journalism awards, scholarships

UPDATED: Sun., May 7, 2017, 9:01 p.m.

BOISE – The Idaho Press Club presented its annual “Best of 2016” journalism awards over the weekend in Boise. The biggest winners, taking numerous awards, were the Idaho Statesman and Twin Falls Times-News; the Idaho Mountain Express in Ketchum; and KTVB-TV in Boise.

Kyle Green of the Idaho Statesman was named print photographer of the year, while Jay Krajic of Idaho Public Television was named broadcast photographer of the year. Top awards for reporter of the year went to the Statesman’s Katy Moeller for print and Idaho Public TV’s Seth Ogilvie for broadcast.

The Statesman won the top general excellence award for daily newspapers in Idaho. The Mountain Express was tops for weekly newspapers, and KTVB topped the general excellence awards for TV.

The Spokesman-Review’s Boise bureau chief, Betsy Z. Russell, won five awards: third place in watchdog/investigative report for her report on the “American Redoubt”; second place in political reporting for her Rep. Raul Labrador profile, “Raul Rising”; third place in crime and courts reporting for her “Loser Pays” report about proposed changes in Idaho’s court system; second place in environmental reporting for her profile of former Idaho Gov. Cecil Andrus; and second place for best blog for “Eye on Boise.”

Hailey Stewart of the University of Idaho won the club’s Don Watkins Memorial Scholarship, a $1,500 college scholarship for an Idaho journalism student.

Midcareer scholarships for professional development were awarded to Ben Olson of the Sandpoint Reader and Alison Smith of the Times-News.