Everything tagged

Latest from The Spokesman-Review

Storms of Denali author to speak at Auntie’s Bookstore

MOUNTAINEERING —  Spokane Mountaineer John Roskelley is mentioned in a new climbing novel and serves as an inspiration for one of the characters, says author/climber Nick O’Connell of Seattle.

The Storms of Denali, is a disaster epic that O'Connell ranks in the tradition of Into Thin Air and The Perfect Storm. Four young men set out to climb a new route on the 20,320-foot peak, the highest and coldest summit in North America. They battle avalanches, fierce winds, and mind-numbing cold to ascend a classic new line up the south face. In confronting these obstacles, the group splinters, leading inexorably to tragedy.

O'Connell will be reading from the novel Thursday (Aug. 9) at 7 p.m. at Auntie's Bookstore in Spokane.

See a video trailer of the novel featuring the author and scenes from Denali.

An extraordinary novel. Through verisimilitude and candor rarely found in the nonfiction literature of North America's highest peak, O'Connell plumbs the motivations, risk, and nuances of an ordinary climber's life.  The mounting tension, deft characterizations, and sun-burnt realism of The Storms of Denali transport the reader more vividly than any other book about the mountain.

—Jonathan Waterman, author of In the Shadow of Denali and Running Dry.

Rick Bass to give Get Lit! a wilderness connection

OUTDOOR LITERATURE — Author Rick Bass of Montana's Yaak Valley, who captured a national audience by writing on man’s relationship with nature, will blend his perspective with an edgy Montana band in a special Get Lit! reading performance April 14, 7 p.m., in the Blue Room of the Spokane Masonic Center, 1108 W. Riverside Ave. Cost: $15

His readings will be accompanied by the unique live performance sound of Stellarondo.
 
A pass for the annual literary festival organized by Eastern Washington University is $45 for the week-long event that's phasing into high gear next week. Tickets are available from TicketsWest.
 
Read on for more about Rick Bass and the upcoming performance.