Arrow-right Camera
The Spokesman-Review Newspaper
Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883

Eye On Boise

Second bipartisan redistricting commission honored with City Club civic engagement award

All six members of Idaho's second bipartisan reapportionment commission that this year successfully drew new legislative and congressional district lines are being honored with the Dottie & Ed Stimpson Award for Civic Engagement by the City Club of Boise. In bestowing the award, the club noted that the previous bipartisan commission "broke down amidst intense partisan and regional discord," but the second commission quickly reached agreement, and then, when its first effort was struck down in court, even more quickly settled on new district lines that passed legal muster. "Their efforts represent civic engagement at its best," the City Club declared in its invitation to the award ceremony and celebration, which will be June 6 from 5-8 p.m. at the Esther Simplot Center for Performing Arts; there's more information here. Tickets to the celebration are $25.

The commission's six members are Democrats Ron Beitelspacher, Shauneen Grange and Elmer Martinez, and Republicans Dolores Crow, Randy Hansen and Sheila Olsen.

Betsy Z. Russell
Betsy Z. Russell joined The Spokesman-Review in 1991. She currently is a reporter in the Boise Bureau covering Idaho state government and politics, and other news from Idaho's state capital.

Follow Betsy online: