Arrow-right Camera
The Spokesman-Review Newspaper
Spokane, Washington  Est. May 19, 1883

Eye On Boise

House names five new committee chairs

Here are the new House committee chairs: Rep. Vito Barbieri, R-Dalton Gardens, will chair the Business Committee, succeeding retired Rep. Frank Henderson, R-Post Falls. Rep. Jeff Thompson, R-Idaho Falls, will chair the Environment, Energy & Technology Committee, formerly chaired by Rep. Dell Raybould, who will move over to chair the Resources & Conservation Committee, formerly chaired by Lawerence Denney, now Secretary of State-elect. Rep. Lynn Luker, R-Boise, will chair the Local Government Committee, succeeding Rep. Lenore Barrett of Challis, who was defeated in the GOP primary in May. And Rep. Christy Perry, R-Nampa, will chair the Ways & Means Committee, succeeding retired Rep. Eric Anderson of Priest Lake. All other committee chairs will remain the same as last year.

The new vice-chair of the House Appropriations Committee will be Rep. Marc Gibbs, R-Grace; former vice-chair Rep. Darrell Bolz of Caldwell retired.

Betsy Z. Russell
Betsy Z. Russell joined The Spokesman-Review in 1991. She currently is a reporter in the Boise Bureau covering Idaho state government and politics, and other news from Idaho's state capital.

Follow Betsy online: